• Sports News
  • Cycling
  • Commonwealth Games 2018
  • Commonwealth Games 2018, Cycling Men's Sprint Qualifying, Ranjit Singh will be leading India's exploits, Live Match Updates

Commonwealth Games 2018, Cycling Men's Sprint Qualifying, Ranjit Singh will be leading India's exploits, Live Match Updates

By Sportskeeda Desk | Last ModifiedApr 07, 2018 09:36 IST

Live action starts at 9:02 am on Anna Meares Velodrome


09:36 (IST)7 APR 2018

That's all from the live coverage from the Anna Meares Velodrome as the Men's Sprint Qualifying comes to an end. Stay tuned to Sportskeeda for updates from all the other events of the Gold Coast Commonwealth Games.

09:35 (IST)7 APR 2018

The qualifying has come to an end. Indian cyclists Sanuraj Sanandaraj, Ranjit Singh and Sahil Kumar finish in the 20th, 21st and 22nd position respectively.
This brings an end to their bid for pre-quarterfinal heats as only the Top 16 cyclists went through.

09:33 (IST)7 APR 2018

Australian Matt Glaetzer is the last cyclist in the qualifying. Last but not the least as he smashes the Games Record with a time of 9.583s

09:31 (IST)7 APR 2018

Kiwi Ethan Mitchell hits the track next and finishes with a time of 9.654s

09:30 (IST)7 APR 2018

Canada's Hugo Barrette qualifies next with a timing of 9.769s

09:29 (IST)7 APR 2018

New Zealand's Edward Dawkins ends his sprint with a time of 9.704s

09:28 (IST)7 APR 2018

It's raining records here!! Scotland's Jack Carlin breaks it again as he clocks 9.650s in his sprint.

09:27 (IST)7 APR 2018

Englishman Philip Hindes finishes a great run as he clocks 9.669s in his sprint. Moves ahead of Jacob Schmid to the second spot.

09:26 (IST)7 APR 2018

England's Ryan Owens smashes the Games Record as he finishes with a time of 9.662s bettering the one set earlier by Jacob Schmid from Australia.

09:24 (IST)7 APR 2018

Welshman Lewis Oliva finishes with a superb timing of 9.737s in his sprint. Takes the second spot in the standings

09:23 (IST)7 APR 2018

Australian Patrick Constable and Kiwi Sam Webster clock times of 9.890s and 9.809s to ensure their qualification to the Top 16.

09:19 (IST)7 APR 2018

Canada's Stefan Ritter is the latest entrant to the sub-10 club as he clocks 9.803s

09:18 (IST)7 APR 2018

With 12 cyclists done so far, the three Indians are currently occupying the 9th, 10th and 11th spot.

09:17 (IST)7 APR 2018

Australian Jacob Schmid creates a new Games Record as he clocks 9.690s in his sprint.

09:15 (IST)7 APR 2018

Trinidad and Tobago's Njisane Philip also goes sub-10 as he finishes with a time of 9.986s

09:14 (IST)7 APR 2018

England's Joseph Truman breaks the 10-minute barrier and clocks 9.780s in his sprint. Takes the top spot.

09:12 (IST)7 APR 2018

India's Ranjit Singh clocks a time of 10.486s in his sprint.

09:09 (IST)7 APR 2018

Canada's Patrice St-Louis Pivin completes the sprint with a time of 10.246s

09:07 (IST)7 APR 2018

India's Sahil Kumar hits the track next and completes the sprint in 10.584s

09:07 (IST)7 APR 2018

Trinidad and Tobago's Keron Bramble goes next and finishes with a time of 10.214s

09:06 (IST)7 APR 2018

India's Sanuraj Sanandaraj clocks a time of 10.381s over 200m.

08:59 (IST)7 APR 2018

Just minutes left for the qualifiers to start. Stay tuned for the live updates as three Indians are in the hunt for a pre-quarters (1/8) spot.

08:51 (IST)7 APR 2018

24 riders will hit the cycling track today but only the Top 16 will qualify for the 1/8 finals.

08:50 (IST)7 APR 2018

Indian cyclists Sanuraj Sanandaraj, Sahil Kumar and Ranjit Singh will be vying for a place in the next round of the event.

08:49 (IST)7 APR 2018

The Men's Sprunt Qualifying event will begin shortly at the Anna Meares Velodrome.

08:45 (IST)7 APR 2018

Hello and welcome to Sportskeeda's live coverage of the event. Stay tuned for updates!

08:45 (IST)7 APR 2018

Day 3 of the Gold Coast Commonwealth Games 2018 gets underway. Early in on the third day, India has already added a Gold medal to their tally with Sathish Sivalingam claiming victory in weightlifting, yet again. India's Table Tennis Women's team also has made it through to the next round, beating Malaysia 3-0 overall. They are now one victory away from a medal.
Cycling hasn't been India's best sport going into the games, with the Indian cyclists heading out of the heats in most cases. Indian cyclists will be looking to make up for their losses as cycling continues on Day 3 with the event kicking off with Men's Sprint. Sprint is a short 10 seconds race in which cyclists compete against each other. The event will start and be concluded on Day 3 itself.
India is represented in the event by three cyclists- Sanuraj Sanandaraj, Ranjit Singh, and Sahil Kumar.
chat-icon Live Chat online