KPL 2018, Match 4: Hubli Tigers complete comfortable 25-run win

By Sportskeeda Desk | Last ModifiedAug 19, 2018 23:31 IST

Live commentary of the first game of KPL's Hubli leg.


23:31 (IST)19 AUG 2018

That's it from us. The Hubli Tigers win two in a row. Tomorrow's game is between the Ballary Tuskers and the Mysuru Warriors. We'll be there with the live coverage of the game. Till then, it's goodbye!

23:29 (IST)19 AUG 2018

Darshan MB is the Man of the Match for his three sixes in the final over of the Hubli batting and his two-wicket haul.

23:28 (IST)19 AUG 2018

The anti-climax ends with the last-wicket pair stretching the match to the 20th over of the innings. The Tigers eventually win by 25 runs.

22:31 (IST)19 AUG 2018

The match has resumed, with Vinay Kumar restarting the proceedings. The last wicket manages to evade him.

22:20 (IST)19 AUG 2018

Update: The rains have vanished, and the Tigers are back on the field to take out the last wicket as quickly as possible.

22:02 (IST)19 AUG 2018

The players hurry off the field, even as the groundstaff scurries to put the tarpaulin in place on the square.

21:57 (IST)19 AUG 2018

A run-out is the last thing Lions wanted. Shekawat is found short of his crease, and with that, the rain intensifies.

21:53 (IST)19 AUG 2018

Vinay Kumar is back to bowl his last over but there's a passing shower. What next? 

21:52 (IST)19 AUG 2018

47 off 18 balls. Only a miracle can save the Lions from here.

21:51 (IST)19 AUG 2018

New batsman is Hoysala K

21:51 (IST)19 AUG 2018

He goes without troubling the scorers. 

Lions 114-8

21:50 (IST)19 AUG 2018

That's a horrendous mix-up and Hegde is stranded as he tried to get back  

21:49 (IST)19 AUG 2018

The current equation is 67 off 21 balls. The stakes are firmly in Hubli's favour

21:48 (IST)19 AUG 2018

Adkosh Hegde is the new man in.

21:48 (IST)19 AUG 2018

Prithviraj has been having a great game, but will it be enough to take the Lions home?

21:31 (IST)19 AUG 2018

Anil IG has replaced Praveen Dubey.

21:31 (IST)19 AUG 2018

Aditya Somanna is the new man in.

21:30 (IST)19 AUG 2018

Jonathan had made an impact ever since he came to the middle. But just when he looked like he could go away with the game, he ends up sending one down the throat of backward point. That's a huge blow to the Lions - half their side is out cold.

Jonathan c sub (Suraj) b Mahesh Patel 29(23)

21:21 (IST)19 AUG 2018

Captain Joshi departs, and the Lions are falling further in the pit. Jonathan still holding one end.

Joshi c SK Jain b Darshan MB 15(16) 

21:16 (IST)19 AUG 2018

At the halfway mark, the Lions are 64-3. The required run-rate is inching towards 10 now. 

21:12 (IST)19 AUG 2018

Praveen Dubey to bowl now.

21:11 (IST)19 AUG 2018

The required run-rate has shot past 9. Time for one of these two to up the ante.

Lions: 59-3 after 9 overs.

21:08 (IST)19 AUG 2018

The 50 comes up for the Lions - they are 51-3 after 8 overs.

21:04 (IST)19 AUG 2018

A sudden spurt of wickets and the Lions have suddenly lost the top three with 44 on the board. Still a long way to go.

Lions 44-3 after 7 overs

21:01 (IST)19 AUG 2018

Captain Aniruddha Joshi is in the middle

21:01 (IST)19 AUG 2018

Darshan MB sends Sharath back as he edges one to the keeper. The Lions are derailing here.

Sharath c Bhille b Darshan 12 (15)

20:58 (IST)19 AUG 2018

Jonathan is the new batsman - inspired move by Vinay Kumar, bringing on Mahesh, who extracts Rohit K off his fourth ball.

Lions 40-2 after 6 overs

20:57 (IST)19 AUG 2018

The introduction of spin does the trick real quick. After three dots, Rohit K balloons a ball right down the throat of midwicket.

Rohit K c Darshan MB b Mahesh Patel 4(6)

20:54 (IST)19 AUG 2018

The Lions will be looking to move on after Liyan Khan's dismissal. They need 124 runs off 90 balls.

Lions: 37-1 after 5 overs

20:51 (IST)19 AUG 2018

OUT! Hubli Tigers have struck! Liyan Khan feathers one to the keeper and he's off.

Liyan Khan c Bhille b Kranti Kumar 16(16)

20:49 (IST)19 AUG 2018

Vinay Kumar isn't willing to give anything away - he slips in a tight over, giving away only three.

Lions 32-0 after 4

20:43 (IST)19 AUG 2018

Vinay Kumar has changed his ends.

20:43 (IST)19 AUG 2018

The steady start gathers pace - Liyan Khan drills one over covers to get going, and pulls one over deep backward square.

Lions 29-0 after 3 overs

20:38 (IST)19 AUG 2018

Liyan Khan and BR Sharath have started judiciously. The former, however, would have wanted more of the free hit he got midway through the over but two runs is all he could manage. The extra ball though costs Kranthi four runs.

Shivamogga 15/0 after 2 overs.

20:32 (IST)19 AUG 2018

A boundary, a wide and a single is all Shivamogga could earn from the first over.

Shivamogga 6/0 after 1 over

20:30 (IST)19 AUG 2018

Vinay Kumar starts with the ball for Hubli.

20:10 (IST)19 AUG 2018

Darshan MB launches one out of the park, literally. It sails over the main stands, into oblivion. Another one flies over cow corner, and the last ball of the innings is smoked over extra cover - he ends with 18 off 3. What an end to the innings. Absolutely sensational stuff. That gives the Hubli team some momentum.

Tigers: 160-7 after 20 overs.

20:06 (IST)19 AUG 2018

Dubey doesn't stick around for long, ends up holing the ball out to long on.

Dubey c Liyam Khan b Somanna 43(32)

20:04 (IST)19 AUG 2018

One over to go - the onus is now on Dubey to take the team past 150.

Tigers: 141-6 after 19 overs

19:59 (IST)19 AUG 2018

The captain might have departed, but Praveen Dubey is taking no half-measures. He's raced up to 35 off 26 balls. Two overs to go, they will be aiming for at least 150.

Tigers: 133-5 after 18 overs

19:53 (IST)19 AUG 2018

OUT! A stunning knock from Vinay Kumar is brought to an end by an equally stunning catch by Prithviraj, who is having a sensational day. He runs backwards from point and clutches the ball off Kumar's aerial slice.

Vinay Kumar c Prithviraj b Hoysala 36(13)

19:47 (IST)19 AUG 2018

Vinay Kumar seems to be in great nick and is middling almost everything that is being offered. Still a long way to go for the Tigers with only four overs to go.

Tigers: 101-4 after 16 overs

19:43 (IST)19 AUG 2018

Shetty replaces Kamat as the Tigers approach 100.

19:43 (IST)19 AUG 2018

Back-to-back sixes from Vinay Kumar and the Hubli crowd is up on its feet. What an assault by the captain - 18 from the over.

Tigers: 98-4 after 15 overs.

19:39 (IST)19 AUG 2018

Is a storm brewing? Vinay Kumar launches a ball over long off to get things going.

Tigers: 80-4 after 14 overs.

19:35 (IST)19 AUG 2018

A super spell from Prithviraj Shekawat ends. He's been in top form today, giving away just 18 runs from four overs and picking two wickets.

Tigers: 68-4 after 13 overs.

19:33 (IST)19 AUG 2018

OUT! After putting up a strong front from one end, SK Jain holes out to mid-wicket. The Tigers slide further. Vinay Kumar is the new man in.

SK Jain c Hedge b Shekawat 23 (33)

19:31 (IST)19 AUG 2018

The Tigers seem content with consolidating and going for the kill later. Another Kishore Kamat over passes by.

Tigers: 63-3 after 12 overs.

19:28 (IST)19 AUG 2018

After 11 overs, Tigers are 59-3.

19:26 (IST)19 AUG 2018

New batsman is Praveen Dubey.
chat-icon Live Chat online
App download animated image Get the free App now