SK News Point: Live Cricket News- 22th December 2016

Updated: 22 December 2016 19:55 IST - Published: December, 22 2016 10:16 AM IST

Dinesh Karthik pads up for this 100th Ranji Trophy match
When Tamil Nadu takes on Karnataka for the all important Ranji Trophy quarter-final encounter tomorrow, all eyes will be on the big batting-trio for Karnataka in Manish Pandey, Karun Nair and KL Rahul. But somewhere in the Tamil Nadu camp, a diminutive man will be wearing a smile to commemorate a personal landmark.

The quarter-final match against Karnataka will mark Dinesh Karthik's 100th Ranji Trophy match. He debuted as a cocky 17-year-old teenager way back in the 2002-03 season and since then, has donned the gloves for state and country with pride.

Speaking to the media on the eve of his milestone and the all important match, Karthik didn't make much of the landmark. "A 100 matches is massive in terms of quantum of numbers. It just doesn't suit my personality," he said. 

"It makes me very old."

In keeping with the milestone, Karthik would be presented with a memento before the commencement of the match. 


17 member Indian team for the 2nd World T20 for the blind announced

Ajay Kumar Reddy will lead India in the World T20 for the visually challenged people that will take place in India from January 28, 2017 to February 12, 2017. India will defend their title as they beat Pakistan by 29 runs in the finals of the inaugural edition in 2012.

Squad: Ajay Kumar Reddy (Captain), Prakasha Jayaramaiah (Vice-Captain), Deepak Malik, Rambir Singh, Sukhram Majhi, T Durga Rao, Sunil R, D Venkateswara Rao, Ganeshbhai Muhundkar, Md Faisal, Md Farhan, Ketanbhai Patel, Md Jafar Iqbal, Sonu Golkar, Anish Beg and Prem Kumar G.


2016 ICC awards to be announced today

The much-awaited ICC cricket awards for the year 2016 will be announced later today and all eyes are on Joe Root, who is the favourite to win the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year.

The awards will be given to the cricketers based on their performances in the 12 months period between 14 September 2015 and 20 September 2016. Though there was no official shortlist announced by the ICC, it will be tough to look beyond Joe Root for the Cricketer of the Year award.

More on:

LIVE CHAT online