New User posted their first comment

Dani Pedrosa triumphs in Malaysian Grand Prix

Modified 13 Oct 2013, 22:13 IST
Dani Pedrosa

Dani Pedrosa

Sepang witnessed a gripping race on Sunday as Dani Pedrosa climbed from fifth on the grid to clinch the Malaysian Grand Prix title.

Marc Marquez, who started on the top of the grid, had to settle for a second place behind Pedrosa. However, Marquez extended his lead on top of the standings to 43 points with the second place finish.

Jorge Lorenzo gave tough competition for the second place but Marquez eventually snatched control of the drive with eleven laps left in the race. Lorenzo who started of the race on a good note after going past Marquez and taking first position was pushed back by a resilient Pedrosa, who took the lead in the fifth lap. Valentino Rossi came in fourth while Alvaro Bautista completed the top five.

The result now means that the Marquez could be crowned as the new world champion at Australia next week with only 75 points still available in the season. After the race Marquez expressed his content in finishing second behind Pedrosa.

“It was quite hard and it was too much risk to try and catch Dani,” Marquez said.

Meanwhile, Pedrosa, who secured his 25th MotoGP victory, said that the temperature wasn’t helping the drivers a bit.

“The conditions were extremely hot. On the grid I was already super-warm and I knew riding would be a lot tougher,” he said.



1. Dani Pedrosa (Spa) Repsol Honda 40 minutes 45.191 seconds

2. Marc Marquez (Spa) Repsol Honda 40:47.948

3. Jorge Lorenzo (Spa) Yamaha 40:51.860

4. Valentino Rossi (Ita) Yamaha 40:55.542

5. Alvaro Bautista (Spa) Honda Gresini 41:07.340

6. Cal Crutchlow (GB) Tech 3 Yamaha 41:07.492

7. Bradley Smith (GB) Tech 3 Yamaha 41:16.055

8. Andrea Dovizioso (Ita) Ducati 41:30.302

9. Aleix Espargaro (Spa) Aspar 41:44.455

10. Yonny Hernandez (Col) Pramac 41:46.608

Published 13 Oct 2013, 22:13 IST
Fetching more content...
Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit