New User posted their first comment

MotoGP: Top 5 Riders with most race wins

Double-world champion Casey Stoner who retired in 2012, won a total of 38 races.
Double-world champion Casey Stoner who retired in 2012, won a total of 38 races.
Modified 16 Apr 2019
Top 5 / Top 10

2019 marks the 70th anniversary of MotoGP. The first season of the motorcycle racing Championship was held in 1949 under the administration of Fédération Internationale de Motocyclisme (FIM, International Motorcycling Federation). Prior to 1949, independent racing events were held all over the world but it was only in 1949 that FIM standardized the rules and regulations, wherein, races held in certain circuits were officially recognized. Since then MotoGP has come a long way.

Today races are held all over the world, from America in the West to Malaysia and Thailand in the East. It truly epitomizes the vastly global appeal that the sport now commands - almost on par with F1. Probably MotoGP commands a more loyal fan base than F1 in countries like Spain and Italy.

Since the year 1997, 3 classes of motorcycles have been approved for racing. They are the 125cc, 250cc and the 500cc class which is commonly referred to as MotoGP or the premier class. Sadly these bikes are not available to the public.

Since inception, we have had 26 different champions with Italians and Spaniards predictably dominating the charts. We focus our attention on the top 5 riders with the most MotoGP race wins to date:

#5 Marc Marquez

Marc Marquez - 5-time MotoGP World champion
Marc Marquez - 5-time MotoGP World champion

Spanish rider Marc Marquez who goes by the nickname 'The Ant' is one of only 3 riders to have lifted titles in all 3 classes. Known for his aggressive racing, especially his ability to maneuver corners putting himself at constant risk of crashing out, Marquez has perfected the art over the years. The youngest ever MotoGP world champion is an accolade which Marquez achieved in his debut MotoGP season in the year 2013. Since then Marquez has been MotoGP's most consistent rider.

Titles in 2014 were followed by a hat-trick of titles from 2016 to 2018. The Spaniard is the hot favorite to extend his winning spree in 2019. As of the 2019 Grand Prix of The Americas, Marquez has won 45 races.

1 / 5 NEXT
Published 16 Apr 2019, 22:37 IST
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now