⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

Mohamed Abdou Declared Winner At WPTDeepStacks Brussels Main Event

15 Feb 2019, 14:33 IST

Mohamed Abdou
Mohamed Abdou

The Grand Casino Viage hosted the 2019 WPTDeepStacks Brussels from February 7-10. There was a record-breaking field of 584 entries across three starting flights and capped four days of high-octane action in the €1,200 Main Event. Mohamed Abdou won the title along with a payday worth €118,000.

He won against Rehman Kassam in a heads-up match with ease. He did play a few rough hands but was saved in time. Abdou also won a WPTDS season-ending package worth €2,000. The entries were a lot more than the previous event last November which was 535. A total of best 71 finishers were to take home a share of the €623,128 with a min-cash worth €2,100.

There were many notable entries including WPT Champions Club members Michael Mizrachi, Chino Rheem, Davidi Kitai, and Guillaume Darcourt. However, they couldn’t get through to the final table. The game resumed on the final day with 18 survivors in the bid to win the €118,000 top prize. And finally, the final table closed with nine players remaining on the table. Vincent Gabel (€11,700) was the last one to go at the 10th position.

The Final Table

Joris Ruijs was the first one to leave the table at the ninth place followed by Gelle Samatar at eighth and start-of-day chip leader Kyriakos Papadopoulos at the seventh position. Fernando Garay went down at the sixth place after losing two back-to-back hands.

Alexandre Reard had to settle for the fifth position after he was left with crumbs while going against Abdou. He lost all his remaining chips to Abdou as he didn’t even have a fighting chance against Abdou’s pocket eights. Abdou then removed Nissim Vaknin at the fourth position in the blind-on-blind action.

Abdou knocked Thomas Sorre out of the table for the third place, continuing his dream run. He then removed Rehman Kassam with ease in the heads-up game and became the winner.

Final Table Results (GBP)

  1. Mohamed Abdou – € 118,000
  2. Rehman Kassam – € 79,000
  3. Thomas Sorre – € 57,000
  4. Nissim Vaknin – € 42,000
  5. Alexandre Reard – € 32,000
  6. Fernando Garay – € 25,000
  7. Kyriakos Papadopoulos – € 19,000
  8. Gelle Samatar – € 15,000
  9. Joris Ruijs – € 11,700

For more of the best pokernews, blogs and poker deals, continue reading PokerShots!

Fetching more content...