Favorites Edit

Nikita Luther Ships ₹15K Deep Dive NLH At DPT

104   //    11 Feb 2019, 13:22 IST

Nikita Luther
Nikita Luther

The 2018 WSOP Tag Team bracelet winner Nikita Luther emerged as the champion of the 2019 Deltin Poker Tournament (DPT) February Edition. She registered her win in the ₹15K Deep Dive NLH by defeating a pool of 187 contestants.

She enjoyed a brilliant run last year as well, where she not only won the WSOP gold bracelet but also ran deep in two international tournaments. Luther was also named the captain of Team India at the Global Teams Event held at the inaugural WPT Korea series.

She was only missing a DPT title in her long list of achievements, having been a runner-up in two previous events in 2017. She had to remain content without winning at the ₹10,000 NLHE Ladies Event for ₹40,000 and ₹15K Bounty for ₹2, 27,600. However, after a long day of twists and turns she won her first-ever DPT title for a whopping amount of ₹6.80 Lakhs.

Luther entered the final table with the second-biggest stack after Ankit Kapoor who was the chip leader. However, she started playing aggressively as soon as the final table began. Luther fashioned an exit for many of the players including Alok Ranjan, Rubin Labroo, Arjun Agrawal and Ankit Kapoor on the final table.

In the end, she went head to head with Parikshit Dhall, who had built up his stack slowly but steadily. He was fifth in chips at the start and finally ended up in the heads-up game against Luther. He did show good fight but a lack of experience ended up costing him the game.

The Final Table Recap

Ashraf Ali who was at the bottom of the list in chips was the first one to be eliminated by Ankit Kapoor at the 9th position. Alok Ranjan followed after Luther sealed his fate with her brilliance.

Luther then removed Rubin Labroo after which Arjun Agrawal eliminated Hidangmayum Somesh and was dismissed by Luther in the next round. With only four to go, Shreyabha Pandey couldn’t handle the pressure and was called out by Dhall from the big blind.

Luther then surgically took down Kapoor in the 3rd place, setting up the platform for her victory in the heads-up against Parikshit Dhall.

Final Table Results (INR)

Final table results
Final table results

For more of the best poker news, blogs and poker deals, continue reading PokerShots!