New User posted their first comment

Richard Marquez Wins PPWC Main Event To Bag PHP 4,850,000

Enter caption
Enter caption
Modified 23 Feb 2019

Richard Marquez wins the Main Event at The PPPoker World Championship (PPWC) to bag PHP 4,850,000 (₹66.30 Lakhs) in first-place prize money. He defeated a field of 383 entries which fall slightly short of its PHP 20 Million prize pool guarantee.

Marquez started the final day as the chip leader and eliminated four of the six finalists including the eventual runner-up Mike Takayama. He achieved his career-best score while defeating the formidable WSOP bracelet winner Takayama to win the title.

Team India at PPWC Main Event

Team India started with a lot of potential as six players were able to reach Day 2. This included big names like Kalyan Chakravarthy, Aditya Sushant, Rajeev Kanjani, Rishab Jain, Jasven Saigal and Abhinav Iyer. However, Kanjani was the only Indian who made it through to the final day bagging PHP 446,200 (₹6.10 Lakhs) and finished eighth. Sushant, Iyer and Chakravarthy also posted scores, while Jain and Saigal had to leave empty-handed.

Indian Cashes at the PPWC Main Event

Final Table Recap

Dong Kyoon Seo was the first one to face Marquez’s wrath and was removed at the sixth position. Hans Jurgen Homner followed him at fifth and was also eliminated by Marquez. Mike Takayama joined the party when he removed Mark Gruendemann for the fourth position leaving only three players on the table. Marquez then eliminated Lester Edoc as his third victim on the table to go in a heads-up match against Takayama. Takayama started the game firmly but had to succumb to Marquez’ domination in the end and finally settling as the runner-up. Marquez, on the other hand, captured the title, along with PHP 4,850,000 top prize by giving the best performance of his career till date.

Final Table Results (PHP)

1. Richard Marquez – PHP 4,850,000


2. Mike Takayama – PHP 2,716,000

3. Lester Edoc – PHP 1,649,000

4. Mark Gruendemann – PHP 1,261,000

5. Hans Jurgen Homner – PHP 1,067,000

6. Dong Kyoon Seo – PHP 875,000

7. Markus Garberg – PHP 660,000

8. Rajeev Kanjani – PHP 446,200

9. Ken Foo Hsien Loong – PHP 291,000

For more of the best poker news, blogs and poker deals, continue reading PokerShots!

Published 23 Feb 2019, 14:11 IST
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now