⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

Team Thailand Wins PPWC For PHP 7 Million

20 Feb 2019, 13:00 IST

Enter caption
Enter caption

The Resorts World Manila hosted the first-ever Teams Event at the PPPoker World Championship (PPWC). Team Thailand won the title after the three-day long, action-packed run. Kannapong Thanarattrakul, who won the 2019 APT Japan Main Event, led the Team Thailand against Team Malaysia who had to settle as the runner-up. Ten teams participated with the buy-in of PHP 550,000 (₹7, 50,644) at the event. The Prize pool guarantee featured at 10 Million (₹1, 36, 48,080) for the first ever teams event.

Team India also participated in the event as one of the ten teams. Pulkit Totla led the star-studded squad that included the pros like Jasven Saigal, Abhinav Iyer, Aditya Sushant, Rishab Jain, Sahil Agarwal, Kalyan Chakravarthy, Akshay Nasa and Sajal Gupta. However, the team couldn’t play to its potential and was one of the first two teams to be eliminated on Day 1 along with Team Chinese Taipei.

With the elimination of these two teams, the final eight moved to Day 2. At the end of the second day, only two teams were left, i.e Team Thailand and Team Malaysia.

Teams Event – Final Day Recap

Both the teams were dominating the vent for the very beginning. Malaysia finished at the top of the table on Day 1 while Thailand ranked third.

Team Thailand was led by Kannapong Thanarattrakul and had players like Chane Kampanat Sanyakorn, Pakinai Lisawad, Sutipong Popitukkul, Sittisak Phetroj, Metasit Pratipsangkom, Thanisorn Saelor, Wanchana Valaikanok and Thananat Therdtakoonrat.

While, Team Malaysia was led by Lee Tse Ian and had players like Loo Junzhong, Ming Juen Teoh, Ming Hong Teoh, Ying Lin Chua, Foo Lai Heng, Mak Wai Cheong and Sebastian Tan Shi Ting.

On the final day, all three formats of the tournament, i.e. 6-Max SNG, Double Heads Up and Heads Up were to be played simultaneously. It was to be played among each member of both the teams.

Team Thailand kept the grip tight the whole time not giving any chance to team Malaysia to fight back. Hence, they won the title along with the prize money of PHP 7 Million (₹95,53,656) with ease. And, Team Malaysia had to settle for PHP 3 Million (₹40,94,424)as runner up.

Final Day Results (PHP)

  1. Team Thailand – PHP 7,000,000
  2. Team Malaysia – PHP 3,000,000

For more of the best poker news, blogs and poker deals, continue reading PokerShots!

Fetching more content...