What are the houses in Harry Potter?

Last Modified Dec 8, 2022 06:06 GMT

The Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry in Harry Potter was divided into four houses named Gryffindor, Slytherin, Hufflepuff, and Ravenclaw.

Source - Twitter

The Houses in Harry Potter are based on the names of their founders- Godric Gryffindor, Helga Hufflepuff, Rowena Ravenclaw, and Salazar Slytherin. The protagonist, Harry Potter and his friends, Ron and Hermoine, all belong to Gryffindor, while their rival, Draco Malfoy, was in Slytherin.

Each house has produced extraordinary witches and wizards and has its grand history. There is competition among the four houses throughout the year by gaining and losing points for demeanor. The house with the most points wins the House Cup.


Source - Bloomsbury

Gryffindor was founded by Godric Gryffindor and headed by Professor Minerva McGonagall. The house color is scarlet and gold, and their symbol is a brave lion.

The traits of Gryffindor's house were bravery and chivalry. The ghost of the house was Sir Nicholas de Mimsy-Porpington, also known as the "Nearly Headless Nick." Gryffindor correlated to the elements of fire. The common room lay in Gryffindor Tower, whose entrance was situated in the east wing, on the seventh floor of the castle.

The entrance was guarded by the portrait of the Fat Lady. She only permits entrance on being given the correct password, which was changed several times throughout the year.

Famous Gryffindors were Harry Potter, Albus Dumbledore, and Celestina Warbeck.


Source - Bloomsbury

Slytherin was founded by Salazar Slytherin and was headed by Professor Severus Snape. The house's colors were silver and emerald green, and their symbol was a snake.

The traits of Slytherin were cunning and ambition. The ghost of the house was the Bloody Baron. Slytherin correlated to the element of water. The common room lay beneath the Black Lake. It was a low underground room with rough stone walls and silver lamps hanging from the ceiling.

Famous Slytherins were Merlin, Tom Riddle, and Dolores Umbridge.


Source - Bloomsbury

Hufflepuff was founded by Helga Hufflepuff and headed by Pomona Sprout. The colors of the house were yellow and black, and the symbol was a badger.

The traits of Hufflepuff are loyalty and hard-working. The ghost of the house was the Fat Friar. Hufflepuff correlated to the element of earth. The common room lay near the castle's kitchen, which was cozy and cheerful with yellow hangings, fat armchairs, and underground tunnels.

Famous Hufflepuffs were Newt Scamander, Artemisia Lufkin, and Hengist of Woodcroft.


Source - Bloomsbury

Ravenclaw was founded by Rowena Ravenclaw and was headed by Filius Flitwick. The colors of the house were blue and bronze, and the symbol was an eagle.

The traits of Ravenclaw are wit and learning. The ghost of the house was the Grey Lady. Ravenclaw correlated to the elements of air. The common room was located in the Ravenclaw tower, which was on the west side of the castle. To enter the room, students must answer a riddle.

Famous Ravenclaws were Gilderoy Lockhart, Ignatia Wildsmith, and Garrick Ollivander.


Q. Which is the best house in Harry Potter?

A. While all the houses are equal, Gryffindor is the most popular house in Harry Potter because all the main characters are there.

Q. Are there 5 Hogwarts houses?

A. No. Hogwarts was divided into four houses. Each house keeps the name of its respective founder - Godric Gryffindor, Salazar Slytherin, Rowena Ravenclaw, and Helga Hufflepuff.

Q. What is Hufflepuff known for?

A. Hufflepuff was known for having hard-working, fair, kind, patient, and elegant members.

Related Stories

Is a Harry Potter reboot in the works? Explained Is a Harry Potter reboot in the works? Explained
Is a Harry Potter reboot in the works? Explained
App download animated image Get the free App now