Asian Women's Sevens Rugby Championship : China champions; India 8th


Pune, 2 October 2011:  Hosts India settled for an eighth place finish after they lost all their games on the final day of the two-day Asian Women’s Rugby 7’s Championship at the Balewadi Sports Complex on Sunday.

Meanwhile, China lived up to their billing as tournament favourites by beating Asian Games gold medallist Kazakhstan 31-12 in the final on Sunday. China’s win thus avenged the previous loss.

China, who lost to Kazakhstan in the final of the Asian Games last year, dominated from the kickoff. The strong running of flanker Gao Yan saw her regularly break the Kazakh defensive line as China established a 15-0 lead at half time.

Kazakhstan attempted a determined comeback with a try from Olga Kim and Sretlana Klyuchnikora, but full back Wang Qian Li sealed the game with solitary run from the left flank for China. China thus emerged the No. 1 team in Asia.

China, who remained undefeated in the championship, kicked off their knockout round campaign with a 41-0 win over hosts India. Gao Yan scored a hat-trick for her team while Yao Ji Yan and Yang Hong scored a try each.

India, meanwhile failed to register a win on Sunday. After being outclassed by China, the hosts were handed a 34-0 hammering by Hong Kong in the plate semifinal. In the seventh place playoff, India led by Pune girl Surabhi Date lost 5-29 against Singapore.

Japan beat Thailand 17-7 in a third place playoff thriller, while Hong Kong emerged as the Plate winners after a win over Chinese Taipei.

The prizes were given away by Adisak Hemyoo, President Asian Rugby Football Union (ARFU), Ross Mitchell, Secretary General, ARFU,. Mathew Oakley from International Rugby Board (IRB) and Pramod Khanna, President, Indian Rugby Football Union (IRFU).


1-2 Place: China 31 bt Kazakhstan 12

3-4 Place: Japan 17 bt Thailand 7

Other Classifications: 5-6 Place: Hong Kong 24 bt Chinese Taipei 10; 7-8 Place:  India 5 lost to Singapore 29; 9-10 Place: Iran 7 bt South Korea 5; 11-12 Place: Malaysia 0 bt Lao 7.

Semi Final: China 26 bt Japan 0; Kazakhstan 21 bt Thailand 12
Plate Semi Final: India 0 lost to Hong Kong 34; Chinese Taipei 21 bt Singapore 0
Bowl Semifinal: Iran 12 bt Malaysia 0; South Korea 17 bt Laos 12
Quarterfinal: China 41 bt India 0; Japan 17 bt Hong Kong 5; Kazakhstan 29 bt Taipei 0; Thailand 24 bt Singapore 0


1.  China; 2 Kazakhstan; 3  Japan;  4 Thailand; 5 Hong Kong;  6 Chinese Taipei; 7 Singapore;  8 India;  9 Iran; 10 South Korea;  11 Lao; 12 Malaysia

Bowl Winner: Iran; Runner Up: South Korea

Plate Winners: Hong Kong; Runner Up: Chinese Taipei

Cup Winners: China; Runners Up: Kazakhstan.

Edited by Staff Editor
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now