Favorites Edit

Olympians OP Jaisha, Lalita Babar and Sudha Singh part of stellar Standard Chartered Mumbai Marathon 2016 lineup

Press Release
607   //    13 Jan 2016, 12:53 IST
OP Jaisha 2015
Indian Olympic qualifier OP Jaisha will run the Standard Chartered Mumbai Marathon this year

Mumbai, 13th January 2016: India’s biggest names in track and field will set the trail ablaze at the country’s most awaited Standard Chartered Mumbai Marathon 2016.  Leading the pack in the men’s full marathon category is Nitendra Singh Rawat, who made his mark at the recently held World Military games and qualified for Rio Olympics.

His focus is his competition with his international contemporaries and is hoping to break the current course record set by Ram Singh Yadav in 2012, 2:16.59.

Returning to claim his stake is Arjun Pradhan, a runner-up at the SCMM 2015. Gopi T, who placed second at the Airtel Delhi Half Marathon 2015, ups the ante and is gunning for a podium finish in the full marathon category at SCMM 2016.

After placing first at the Vasai Virar marathon last year, Kheta Ram will compete for the full marathon title in the city on the 17th as well.

31-year-old Army Sports Institute (Pune) athlete Elam Singh won the 2nd Vasai-Virar Mayor’s Marathon in 2012.

Among the women athletes running the full marathon are Kerala’s OP Jaisha, who is the current full marathon national record holder for her performance at the Standard Chartered Mumbai Marathon 2015.

Lalita Babar from Central Railway, a 3000 metres steeplechase specialist, is the current Indian national record holder in the same event. She is a three-time winner of the Standard Chartered Mumbai Marathon and has qualified for the Rio Olympics.

Sudha Singh, a consistent performer in steeplechase events, was an Asian Games Gold Medallist in 2010. She is also the winner of Standard Chartered Mumbai Marathon 2014 in the Half Marathon category and was the Runner-up at Airtel Delhi Half Marathon in 2014.

Half Marathon champion Kavita Raut will return this year to try her luck in the full marathon. Of the athletes at this year’s marathon, O.P Jaisha, Lalita Babar and Sudha Singh will be representing India at the Rio Olympics.

In the half marathon category, we will see Indrajeet Patel return to claim his place at the top, having placed first at the 2014 and 2015 edition of SCMM. Another participant who will make a comeback from SCMM 2014 is Soji Mathew.

Other women to watch out for are Kiran Sahdev, and Supriya Patil.  Monika Athare, the second place winner from the Airtel Delhi Half Marathon 2014 will also be running on 17th January.

Topics you might be interested in:
Press Release
Fetching more content...