6 of the best rugby players in recent history

Eben Etzebeth (left)
Modified 17 Sep 2015
Top 5 / Top 10

The battle for utltimate glory begins in two days time as the 2015 Rugby World Cup kicks off in England. The best players in the world will grace the stage as they try and inspire their teams to success. Talking of the best players, here are the five best players in world rugby who have come to really make a mark and stay on top of the pile.

#6 Eben Etzebeth (South Africa) - Lock

The South African lock is the enforcer of the Springbok pack, but he isn’t just all muscle and fight. He is very mobile for a big guy and lends great energy to the forward game. 

A tank in human form, the 23-year-old lock, stands 2-metres tall and weighs 118 kilograms. Like Retalick, when he gets going, there are few in world rugby who can look at stopping him. Etzebeth is also the leader at line-outs for the Springboks, taking over from world cup winning captain Victor Matfield. 

Etzebeth is currently one of the top forwards in world rugby and was nominated for the 2013 IRB Player of the Year award, but lost out to the All Blacks’ Kieran Read. He has amazing upper body strength and has been known to be being able to bench press 175 kg, and perform incline dumbbell chest presses with 60 kg dumbbells! Not someone you want to mess with.

Etzebeth will be a key cog as South Africa plot to win the Webb Ellis trophy for a record third time.

1 / 6 NEXT
Published 17 Sep 2015
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now