Write & Earn
Favorites Edit

Anoop Singh, Naval Singh recommended for Dronacharya award

The awards will be handed out on August 29th.

News 25 Aug 2015, 19:32 IST
The Dronacharya award

The Sports Ministry has officially approved the names of Wrestling coach Anoop Singh and Paralympics coach Naval Singh for the prestigious Drnacharya Awards for the year 2015, indiatoday.in reports.

On the basis of the recommendations from the Committee, the Ministry approved the names of the 2 coaches after looking at their performance in the last 3 years. Anoop has played a vital role in guiding grapplers like Sushil Kumar, Yogeshwar Dutt, Bajrang, Amit Dahiya etc. in helping them realise their dreams.

Nihar Singh, Harbans Singh and SR Singh were picked for the ‘Lifetime Achievement Category’ in which achievements over a period of 2 decades were taken into account.

SP Misra from Tennis, TPP Nair from Volleyball and Romeo James from Hockey were considered for the Dhyan Chand award. The Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand winners will be given statues, certificates and an amount of Rs 5 lakhs.

The Directorate General of Military General was selected for the Rashtriya Khel Protsahana Purushkar for their 'identification and nurturing of budding/young talent'. Sport Coaching Foundation, Hyderabad was nominated in the ‘sports for development’ section.

Coal India Limited was picked for the 'encouragement to sports through corporate social responsibility' category. The Rashtriya Khel Protsahana Purushkar  will be awarded with certificates and trophies.

The awards will be handed out on August 29th by the President of India.

Fetching more content...