Bengal government to honour sportspersons

Pune Warriors India captain Sourav Gangu

Kolkata - A host of sportspersons including former Indian cricket captain Sourav Ganguly, and some of the country’s soccer legends like P.K. Banerjee, Chuni Goswami and Tulsidas Balaram will be presented the Banga Bibhushan award Monday.

Mountaineer Aung Narvu Sherpa will also be among the Banga Bhushan awardees at a function where Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee will be present. Governor M.K. Narayanan will be handing over the awards, an official said.

The Bangabhushan award will also be presented to hockey Olympian Gurbux Singh, tennis ace Leander Paes, Grandmaster Dibyendu Barua, paddler Poulami Ghatak and former Indian women’s cricket captain Jhulan Goswami.

Quick Links

Edited by Staff Editor
Be the first one to comment