New User posted their first comment

Commonwealth Games 2018 Day 6, India results and roundup: Heena Sidhu delivers even as other shooters disappoint

  • Day 6 was India's leanest as far as medals were concerned
Modified 01 Apr 2020, 17:29 IST

Enter caption

Heena Sidhu got India it's third gold medal from Shooting at the Commonwealth Games 2018 in Gold Coast when she struck gold in the Women's 25m Pistol event.

India had two shooters in the fray here, Annu Singh being the other. But after being impressive in qualifying, Singh could only manage a 6th placed finish. Sidhu meanwhile won gold with a new Games record score of 38. She finished three points ahead of the silver medalist.

Meanwhile, there was disappointment in the Men's 50m Rifle Prone where both the Indian shooters finished outside the podium places. Gagan Narang and Chain Singh were the two shooters in the competition. Narang had claimed silver in this event four years ago in Glasgow but had a forgettable final here finishing 7th.

Singh though finished 4th, just missing out on the bronze. The difference between Singh and Kenneth Parr (who claimed bronze) of England was just 0.3 ahead of the fifth elimination round of the final. In fact, Singh was only 0.6 away from the leader at the time. But in that fifth round, Singh shot a 10 & 9.3 while Parr shot a 10 and 9.7, thereby eliminating the Indian.

Sachin Chaudhary makes his mark

Four Indian athletes were in action on Tuesday in the Para Powerlifting competitions, but only one of them emerged with a medal.

That honour went to 34-year-old Sachin Chaudhary in the Men's Heavyweight category. Chaudhary managed only one successful lift out of three, but his 201 kg effort was good enough to secure him bronze.


India is assured of at least five more medals from boxing with all of their pugilists in action on Tuesday making it to the semifinals of their respective categories.


Amit Panghal defeated Aqeel Ahmed of Scotland with a 4:1 decision after a hard-hitting match from both boxers ur to move into the semis of the Men's 46-49kg category.

Naman Tanwar won his contest against Frank Masoe of Samoa more easily in the Men's 91kg section.

Hussamuddin Mohammed in the Men's 56kg also made the semis with victory over Everisto Mulenga of Zambia while Manoj Kumar also progressed in the Men's 69kg category with a win over Terry Nickolas of Australia.

Satish Kumar beat Nigel Paul of Trinidad & Tobago in the Men's +91kg category.


Muhammad Anas Yahiya ran perhaps his best race ever in the final of the Men's 400m, but missed the bronze narrowly finishing a very creditable 4th. In fact, his time of 45.31 seconds today is a new National Record.

In the semis of the Women's 400m, Hima Das ran a Personal Best time of 51.53 seconds, but it was not enough to send her through to the final.


The Indian men's team continued to eke out victories as they edged out Malaysia 2-1 in their Pool B match. For the third game in a row, India were not at their best, but they managed to get the three points.

India took the lead in the first period, but Malaysia pegged them back in the second before the Indians netted the winner in the third. Harmanpreet Singh bagged both goals.

The team has really struggled for rhythm thus far. So far India have had two wins and a draw from their three games.

The women's team played South Africa later in the evening and came away with a 1-0 win courtesy of a goal from Rani in the opening minutes of the fourth period.


After the conclusion of the Mixed Team event yesterday, the regular badminton events began today. In Mixed Doubles, the team of Ashwini Ponnappa and Satwik Rankireddy beat Guernsey's Stuart Hardy and Chloe Le Tissier 21-9 21-5.


Mixed Doubles Pool E

Dipika Pallikal/Saurav Ghosal (India) beat Madina Zafar/Tayyab Aslam (Pakistan) 2-0

Dipika Pallikal/Saurav Ghosal (India) beat Mary Fung-A-Fat/Jason Ray Khalil (Guyana) 2-0

Mixed Doubles Pool H

Joshna Chinappa/Harinder Pal Sandhu (India) beat Caroline Laing/Jacob Kelly (Cayman Islands) 2-0

Women's Doubles Pool C

Joshna Chinappa/Dipika Pallikal (India) beat Faiza Zafar/Madina Zafar (Pakistan) 2-1

Published 10 Apr 2018, 20:19 IST
Fetching more content...
Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit