Write & Earn
Favorites Edit

IOC elects two new members

14 members were re-elected as members of the IOC board, while six members were elected as IOC honorary members

News 03 Aug 2015, 19:25 IST
 United World Wrestling president Nenad Lalovic(L) and Senegal Olympic Committee president Mamadou Ndiaye (R)

Kuala Lumpur, August 3 Senegal Olympic Committee president Mamadou Diagna Ndiaye and United World Wrestling president Nenad Lalovic were elected as new members of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) at its 128th session here on Monday.

The IOC members election commission is working on a new procedure for the recruitment of IOC members based on the Olympic Agenda 2020 recommendations. The commission will meet in November to finalise the new procedure, reports Xinhua.

Gunilla Lindberg was re-elected as a member of the IOC executive board as 14 members were re-elected. Six long-standing IOC members whose mandates come to end this year were elected as IOC honorary members.

Speaking about one honorary member Doyen Smirnov, IOC president Thomas Bach said: "All of us in the Olympic Movement have been privileged to witness his strong dedication and commitment to our values. For over 40 years within the IOC, he has never failed in his tasks as a member. He is a great Olympic leader. His contribution to our movement cannot be overestimated."

The 129th session is scheduled to take place in Rio de Janeiro in August 2016.

Fetching more content...