Create & Earn
Favorites Edit

Ireland announce 15-man World Cup squad

1.72K   //    06 Jan 2015, 00:45 IST
The Ireland squad during a recent match against Bangladesh

Dublin, Jan 5: The Irish cricket authorities Monday decided to retain William Porterfield as captain of the 15-member squad for the World Cup scheduled February-March in Australia and New Zealand.

All the players named last month for the training camp and tri-series in Dubai against Afghanistan and Scotland found a place for the quadrennial event.

Porterfield will be one of five Irish players participating in their third World Cup, along with Kevin and Niall O'Brien, Ed Joyce and John Mooney.

However,it will be the debut World Cup for six players in the squad - Andrew Balbirnie, Peter Chase, Andrew McBrine, Tim Murtagh, Stuart Thompson, and Craig Young.

Competition good for Irish cricket: Porterfield

"It's fantastic to be leading Ireland in another global tournament," the 30-year-old Porterfield was quoted as saying by The Irish Times.

"We've produced some wonderful performances over the years in World Cups, and there's no reason why we can't claim further successes in Australia and New Zealand."

"There's a great mix as always in the squad, and the younger guys coming through are all hungry which keeps the more experienced players on their toes. Competition for places has been fierce and that's got to be good for Irish cricket," he added.

Ireland will face West Indies in their opening game in Hamilton Feb 16.

Given below is the Ireland Squad:

William Porterfield (Captain), Andrew Balbirnie, Peter Chase, Alex Cusack, George Dockrell, Ed Joyce, Andrew McBrine, John Mooney, Tim Murtagh , Kevin O'Brien, Niall O'Brien, Paul Stirling, Stuart Thompson, Gary Wilson, Craig Young.

Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...