Write & Earn
Favorites Edit

Jagmohan Dalmiya returns for second stint as BCCI president

Jagmohan Dalmiya returns as BCCI chief.

02 Mar 2015, 16:54 IST
Jagmohan Dalmiya returns as BCCI president

Jagmohan Dalmiya was unanimously elected as the president of Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), Indian cricket’s governing body, on Monday. This will be his second term as BCCI chief after having been at the helm of affairs for more than a decade before his unceremonious ouster in 2005. The 74-year-old cricket veteran from Bengal also held the post of ICC president for three years from 1997 to 2000.

Subsequent to the Supreme Court ruling against N Srinivasan barring him from contesting the BCCI elections owing to conflict of interest with his IPL franchise Chennai Super Kings (CSK), Dalmiya emerged as the frontrunner for the post.

Meanwhile, Anurag Thakur pipped Sanjay Patel, by a narrow margin of 15-14, for the post of BCCI secretary. Jharkhand Cricket Association’s Amitabh Chaudhary was elected the joint secretary over Goa’s Chetan Desai, who is apparently in the anti-Srinivasan faction. For the treasurer’s post, Haryana’s Anirudh Choudhary got the nod over Rajeev Shukla while the three vice-presidents were elected unopposed.

“Happy that Anurag Thakur, who is an experienced cricketer himself is the secretary of BCCI and delighted that Jyotiraditya Scindia is the new vice-president. On behalf of the Cricket Association of Bihar I congratulate them and I am sure that he will understand the tough phase that cricket in Bihar is going through,” Cricket Association of Bihar (CAB) secretary Aditya Verma, who has been constantly protesting against Srinivasan’s clout, said.

Veteran Sharad Pawar, who was expected to be in the running along with Dalmiya for the post of president, lost out as he failed to get enough support from the East Zone. 

While there was ambivalence surrounding Dalmiya’s earlier tenure as BCCI chief, he does deserve some credit for having made lucrative changes to the game in the subcontinent and for also playing an integral part in winning the bid to host the World Cup in these parts in 1987 and 1996.

The current ICC chief Srinivasan, who stepped down from the post of BCCI president after the apex court’s directive, was cleared to exercise his right to vote in the just concluded elections. He also sent an unconditional apology to the Supreme Court recently over him chairing the BCCI working committee meeting.

Fetching more content...