Calcutta Premier Division: New format & more teams

The Indian Football Association (West Bengal) has released the new format for the 2012/13 season of the Calcutta Premier Division which will see 19 teams in action, two more thAn last season and they have been divided into two groups - Group A with 10 teams and Group B with nine teams. The league is set to kick-off in August.The IFA has decided to split the Kolkata big four – East Bengal, Mohun Bagan, Prayag United and Mohammedan Sporting – into the two groups.

All teams in both groups play each other twice before five teams from Group A and four from Group B qualify for the championship round in which again all teams will face each other once, while the other 10 teams play the relegation as a round robin league with the bottom team relegated. The points from the preliminary round are not carried forward though cards will be carried forward.In a step backwards, the IFA has decided to abolish the rule of having to fielding one Under-19 footballer by each team in the Calcutta Premier Division. As a replacement the IFA is creating an Under-19 League for Calcutta Premier Division teams, which will make it mandatory for all participating sides to have such an U-19 team with players only registered with the club as they no longer will be allowed to take players on loan.



Group A
East Bengal Club, Prayag United SC, Techno Aryan Club, Army XI, Kalighat Milan Sangha, Railway FC, BNR, George Telegraph SC, Eastern Railway SC, Peerless SC

Group B
Mohun Bagan AC, Mohammedan Sporting Club, Bhawanipore Club, Calcutta Port Trust, Tollygunge Agragami, Police AC, Southern Samity, West Bengal Police, Kalighat Club

Stay connected with Sports on your Android. Get the all new SK Live app! Download for Android

View Comments
Sportskeeda is now on Android!