SC East Bengal


Full NameSC East Bengal

Nick NameRed and Gold Brigade

Founded1 August 1920

GroundEast Bengal Ground, Salt Lake Stadium

Team Owner(s)Shree Cement East Bengal Foundation


About SC East Bengal

As the pre-season to the 2020/21 Indian Super League moved forward, the prospect of SC East Bengal playing in the league seemed unlikely. However, with a few swift decisions and Shree Cement taking over the ownership of the club, the Red and Gold brigade made their entry into the ISL.

With just a couple of weeks to begin before the start of the ISL, the club moved quickly to sign Liverpool legend Robbie Fowler. The latter wasted no time as the overseas signings came thick and fast. Fowler looked towards his previous club Brisbane Roar to recruit players, most of whom he had worked with.

Full-back Scott Neville was the first to arrive followed by Matti Steinmann, Aaron Amadi-Holloway, Anthony Pilkington, and Daniel Fox with Pilkington and Fox having played in the English Premier League with Norwich City and Southampton FC respectively.

Fowler’s first game in charge was a friendly against Kerala Blasters, a game that was won rather comfortably by Fowler’s men.

Also see: SC East Bengal Fixtures


The formation of East Bengal as a club in itself came when a couple of players in Mohun Bagan could not play since they were from the Eastern part of Bengal. The exclusion of Sailesh Bose from the Mohun Bagan side for their Coochbehar Cup fixture against Jorabagan did not go down too well.

Eventually, it was Sailes Bose,Suresh Chandra Chaudhari, and Sarda Ranjan Roy who went on to form East Bengal football club.The club was officially incorporated on the 11th of August 1920 and recently completed 100 years in existence on the 11th of August 2020.

Prominent Achievements

In their 100-year existence as a club, East Bengal are one of the most decorated clubs in the country. So far, they have claimed a total of 272 trophies, of which 4 are international trophies, 118 major domestic accolades, and 150 minor accolades. East Bengal also holds the record of most number of wins in the Calcutta Football League (39 times), Durand Cup (16 times), and IFA Shield (29 times).

Low Points

One of the drawbacks of being such a decorated side is the mountain of expectations the Red and Gold Brigade have on them. The last time they won the National Football League was the 2003-04 season. Since then, they have not managed to win many trophies. The last title they won was the Calcutta Football League in 2017.

Major players in the upcoming ISL

SC East Bengal has a fantastic record in producing players for the Indian national football team. In fact, Bhaichung Bhutia is a legend of the club having played for the Red and Gold Brigade in the recent past. Bhutia, a former Indian football team captain has also scored 148 goals for the club.

In the upcoming season, SC East Bengal’s first in the Indian Super League, they will be banking on the likes of Jeje Lalpheklua, Eugeneson Lyngdoh, and several other Indian players to step up to the plate. In addition, the likes of Anthony Pilkington, Danny Fox, and Aaron Amad-Holloway will be key to the club’s chances in their first season in the ISL.

Fetching more content...