Hockey World League trophy unveiled at New Delhi by captains

Read more: Sardar Singh,
World Hockey League trophy

World Hockey League trophy

The Hockey World League finals are scheduled to start on Friday at the Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium, where the two year long  journey of the eight finalists ends.

Yesterday, in the presence of all the captains of the participating teams, the trophy of the Hockey World League was unveiled. The Hockey World League kicks off 2014, being the first hockey tournament in a year that also features the World Cup and Champions Trophy.

Leandro Negre, the International Hockey Federation (FIH) president said, “We have been very successful in presenting our newest event to global hockey. We are really pleased that the World League has successfully introduced new nations to international hockey.”


“I hope that the first event of 2014 turns out to be a massive success. After all, it is held in India, a country famed for its love of hockey.”

At unveiling ceremony, Hockey India secretary general Narinder Batra said: “The year 2014 is significant for Indian hockey on global and Asian levels. Besides the World Cup, Champions Trophy and the Commonwealth Games, we will also feature in the Asian Games. Therefore, the tune for our national team will be set when the World League Final begins here. The entire country is waiting for Sardar Singh and his team to deliver, which I hope they will.”

“India should now get behind their team and support them in a big way. Fan support can really make a big difference to the team’s fortunes in a highly competitive tournament such as this.”

The World League spans over two years and is composed of four rounds, while the schedule coincides alternatively with the build up to the World Cup and Olympics, providing more than half of the entry tickets for both the main events.

Click to View Comment


Cinderella Man
Arsenal Specialist
If Sachin is God, I am his follower! die-hard gooner.. Idolize Thierry Henry, Dennis Bergkamp, MS Dhoni and David Beckham. Firmly believe Ayrton Senna is the greatest F1 racer of all time!
Posts Published
Reads Received
Join the Sportskeeda Writers Club How