Favorites Edit

Badminton Asia Championships 2018: Schedule of India’s first round matches, start time, telecast and how to watch online

2.82K   //    24 Apr 2018, 19:33 IST

Badminton - Commonwealth Games Day 5
Saina Nehwal

Fresh from scripting history at the 2018 Commonwealth Games, the Indian shuttlers will now be focussing on winning the prestigious Badminton Asia Championships, the main draw action of which starts at Wuhan on April 25.

The Indian challenge will be spearheaded by PV Sindhu, Saina Nehwal, Kidambi Srikanth and HS Prannoy and they will be joined by Sai Praneeth and Sameer Verma. For the first four, it will be quite a challenge as fatigue is bound to kick in at some point, following their exploits at Gold Coast just 9 days back.

Besides, the quality of opposition at this tournament will be pretty high as the crème de la crème of Asia will be hunting for the crown. Suffice to say, India has a tough task ahead and anything less than their very best will not be enough.

The doubles players, who played at the Commonwealth Games, have been rested and the onus thus lies on the singles stars to keep the country’s hopes alive.

Here is all the information you need to know

Tournament name: Badminton Asia Championships 2018

Category: Continental Individual Championships

Points on offer for winner: 9200

Venue: Wuhan Sports Centre, Wuhan, China

Round: First


Date: Wednesday, April 25, 2018

Schedule of India’s matches:

Men’s singles

(1) Kidambi Srikanth vs Kenta Nishimoto at 9.30am

Sameer Verma vs (7) Chou Tien Chen at 10.10am

Sai Praneeth vs Suppanyu Avihingsanon at 2.50pm

HS Prannoy vs Wangcharoen Kantaphon at 3.30pm

Women’s singles

Saina Nehwal vs Yeo Jia Min at 10.10am

(3) PV Sindhu vs Pai Yu Po at 1.30pm

Men’s doubles

Arjun MR and Shlok Ramchandran vs Chung Eui Seok and Kim Dukyoung at 11.30am

Manu Attri and B Sumeeth Reddy vs Bodin Isara and Nipitphon Phuangphuapet at 5.30pm

Women’s doubles

Meghana Jakkampudi and Poorvisha S Ram vs Ong Ren-Ne and Wong Jia Ying Crystal at 11.30am

Aparna Balan and Sruthi KP vs Ha Na Baek and Yu Rim Lee at 4.10pm

Kuhoo Garg and Ningshi Block Hazarika vs Soong Fie Cho and Tee Jing Yi at 4.50pm

Mixed doubles

Saurabh Sharma and Anoushka Parikh vs Kim Won Ho and Shin Seung Chan at 7.30am

Venkat Gaurav Prasad and Juhi Dewangan vs Lee Chun Hei Reginald and Chau Hoi Wah at 1.30pm

Rohan Kapoor and Kuhoo Garg vs Zhang Nan and Li Yinhui at 2.50pm

(All timings in Indian Standard Time)

Channel: Live telecast on D Sport quarter-final onwards

Live Updates: On Sportskeeda

Also read: Stern test for Saina Nehwal and Kidambi Srikanth at Badminton Asia Championships; PV Sindhu has it easier

Topics you might be interested in:
A freelance journalist based in Kolkata who is a diehard Rafael Nadal fan. She is also extremely passionate about India’s progress in sports and hopes to throw light on India’s unsung sports heroes through her articles. When not screaming her lungs out in support of her favourite sports stars, she can be seen reading, watching movies or immersed in planning her next travel destination!
Fetching more content...