Day 3: A rigorous fighting start of the second round in Yonex Denmark Open 2013



On day three of the Yonex Denmark Open 2013, the players seemed ready to appear in the proceedings of their respective round 2 clashes. The first match on 17th October, 2013 was played in the Women’s Doubles category, where the Denmark pair of Christinna Pedersen and Kamilla Rytter Juhl defeated their German opponents Johanna Goliszewski and Birgit Michels by 21-14 and 21-8. This match marked the opening of day 3 of Denmark open. Reika Kakiiwa and Miyuki Maeda of Japan defeated the Indonesian pair by 21-19 and 21-12 in the same category.

In the Men’s Doubles category, Yong Dae Lee and Yeon Seong Yoo of Korea defeated their Denmark opposition by 21-19 and 21-7. In another match in this category, the Indonesian pair of Mohammad Ahsan and Hendra Setiawan defeated their country mates Markus Fernaldi and Markis Kido by 21-17 and 21-18. Hirokatsu Hashimoto and Noriyasu Hirata defeated their Korean opponents in the same category to enter their third round in the tournament.

In the Women’s Singles Category, Eriko Hirose of Japan defeated Juan Gu of Singapore by 21-16, 22-24 and 22-20. The match was a tough fight and lasted for 74 minutes. After losing the first game Juan Gu came back fighting in the second game and levelled the match. In the tight third encounter Eriko Hirose managed to win and progressed to the next round of Women’s Singles category.

In the much awaited match of Ajay Jayaram and Gurusaidutt R.M.V., Gurusaidutt managed to win the match by 21-15 and 21-16 and booked a slot in the second round of this category. Both players are representing India in the Men’s Singles category. The battle was between the two adjacent ranked players in this category. In the first game, Jayaram was competing in the initial phase but soon Gurusaidutt gained the momentum and won the game. In the second game Jayaram started with a lead of 3-1 but Gurusaidutt took the control over the game and registered a win in the second round of Men’s Singles category.

The remaining Indian clashes for the day include- Saina Nehwal to take over the Scottish Kirsty Gilmour and Kashyap’s battle against Jorgensen of Denmark.

Edited by Staff Editor


Quick Links:

More from Sportskeeda
Fetching more content...