Favorites Edit

Groups for Uber and Thomas Cup announced 

Pavan Suresh
821   //    23 Mar 2018, 02:18 IST

The Indian Women's team has reached the semi-finals in the last two editions

The Indian men’s and women’s team have a great chance to qualify for the knockout stages of the prestigious Uber and Thomas Cup 2018 to be held in Bangkok from 20th May to 27th May.

Both teams have been placed in Group A for the Uber Cup and Thomas Cup.

Indian women’s team who did very well by reaching the semi-finals of this prestigious tournament in the last two editions are placed with five-time champions Japan, Canada, Australia in the Uber Cup.

As for men’s section is concerned, they have been grouped with China, France, and Australia in Group A.

The Indian men’s team lost to China by 1-3 in the Badminton Asia Championship, while Indian women are lost to Indonesia by 1-3 in last 8 that was held last month.

Both the Indian teams qualified for the prestigious tournaments depending on their rankings.

It promises to be an exciting tournament for the Indian shuttler’s who would be looking to perform well on the biggest stage against top nations.

In 2016 edition of Thomas Cup, the Indian men’s team lost all their group matches to be knocked out early.

While in Women’s section, they reached the semi-finals of 2016 edition losing to strong China.


The Indian teams would be looking to perform well against weak teams and qualify for the quarter-finals stage.

The teams have been divided into four groups of four teams each in both tournaments.

In Thomas Cup, Group A comprises of India, France, China and Australia, Group B consists of Indonesia, Korea, Thailand, Canada, Group C comprises of Chinese Taipei, Japan, Germany and Hong Kong. The final group consists of Denmark, Malaysia, Russia, Algeria.

Uber Cup is women’s team event. In 2018 edition, Group A comprises of Japan, India, Canada, Australia, Group B consist of Thailand, Chinese Taipei, Germany, Hong Kong. Group C consists of Korea, Denmark, Russia, Mauritius. The final group consists of China, Indonesia, France, and Malaysia.

Thomas Cup

Group A: China, France, India, Australia

Group B: Indonesia, Korea, Canada, Thailand

Group C: Chinese Taipei, Japan, Germany, Hong Kong

Group D: Denmark, Malaysia, Russia, Algeria

Uber Cup

Group A: Japan, India, Canada, Australia

Group B: Thailand, Chinese Taipei, Germany, Hong Kong

Group C: Korea, Denmark, Russia, Mauritius

Group D: China, Indonesia, France, Malaysia. 

Topics you might be interested in:
Pavan Suresh
Big fan of cricket. Love to know and see every possible match. Love badminton, Hockey
Fetching more content...