IBL announces Indian Under-19 players for five franchisees


Daniel Farid (first from left) with his Banga Beats team-mates

The Indian Badminton League (IBL) has announced the names of the Under-19 players for five of its franchisees today.

As per the IBL rules, apart from the auction buys, each of the franchisees are supposed to pick up an India Under-19 player as the 11th player in their squad.

Harsheel Dani, ranked No. 2 in the Under-19 boys single category and winner of the U-19 boys singles title in the National championship held in Imphal, has been picked up by Mumbai Masters.

Gold medallist in boys singles and bronze medal winner in the team event in the 2012 National School Games held in Pune, Utkarsh Arora has been named by Krrish Delhi Smashers.

Pune Pistons, on the other hand, have picked up five-time Maharashtra captain and two-time state under-17 singles winner Revathi Devasthale.

Hyderabad Hotshots have named 16 year old, Sub Junior National Champion 2012, C. Rahul Yadav. He is currently ranked No.2 in Under-17 and No.4 in Under-19.

Daniel Farid, winner of the U-17 All India Junior ranking tournament 2013 at FNCC, Hyderabad, has been picked up by Banga Beats. He had also won the bronze medal in the U-15 ANA Asian Badminton Championship in 2011.

Awadhe Warriors (Lucknow) are yet to finalize their 11th player.

The 11th player for each team was selected by the franchisee themselves and informed the IBL Governing Council on their final choices.

Edited by Staff Editor


Quick Links:

More from Sportskeeda
Fetching more content...