New User posted their first comment

Indian badminton winners of various tournaments in 2014

Smit Khedekar
Modified 30 Dec 2014, 18:54 IST
Saina Nehwal and K. Srikanth pose after winning the China Open

2014 was a fabulous year for Indian badminton. There are two singles players in Top 5 of World Badminton Ranking at the end of the year. Seven men’s singles players are part of Top 50 of World Badminton Ranking. The year also saw seven men’s singles winners in eight different tournaments, four women’s singles winners in five different tournaments.

The Women team won bronze in Uber Cup and the Asian games 2014. We hope the Men’s team follow it in coming years.

Below is the list of top 4 indian badminton players (teams) in various 2014 tournaments.

Sayed Modi Indian Grand Prix Gold MS K Srikanth (6) Silver
H.S Prannoy 3/4
Prakash Aditya
WS Nehwal Saina (1) Gold
PV Sindhu (2) Silver
Iran Fajr International Challenge MS Verma Sourabh (2) Gold
WD Sawant Prajakta/Sara Sunil Aarthi (4) 3/4
Austrian International Challenge MS Verma Sourabh (5) Gold
Yonex German Open MS Bhat Arvind  Gold
Swiss Open  MS Kashyap Parupalli (3) 3/4
WS PV Sindhu 3/4
Yonex Sunrise Malaysia GPG MS Verma Sourabh (8) Silver
OUE Singapore Open MS K Srikanth 3/4
Skycity New Zealand Open MS Bhat Arvind (5) 3/4
Badminton Asia Championship WS PV Sindhu 3/4
WD Gutta Jwala/Ponappa Ashwini 3/4
Srilanka Open International Challenge MS Pawar Anand (2) Silver
H.S. Prannoy (1) 3/4
MD Attri Manu / B Reddy Sumeeth (2) Silver
WS PC Thulasi (6) Gold
WD Gadre Pradnya/Reddy Sikki (4) Silver
XD Gadre Pradnya/Dewalkar Akshay (4) Gold
Sawant Prajakta/Vountus Indra Mawan*  Silver
Vishnu Arun/Balan Aparna (2) 3/4
Bahrain International Series MS Dey Subhankar (2) Gold
WS Pillai Riya (1) Gold
The Star Australian Open WS Nehwal Saina (6) Gold
Commonwealth Games 2014 MS Parupalli Kashyap Gold
RMV Gurusai Dutt Bronze
WS PV Sindhu Bronze
WD Gutta Jwala/Ponnappa Ashwini Silver
OUE Singapore International Series XD Sawant Prajakta/Vountus Indra Mawan* (2) 3/4
Li Ning BWF World Championship WS PV Sindhu (11) 3/4
Yonex Sunrise Vietnam GP Open MS HS Pronnoy (5) Gold
Yonex Dutch Open  MS Jayaram Ajay (13) Gold
Yonex Denmark Open MS Kashyap Parupalli 3/4
Bitburg Badminton Open MS HS Pronnoy (7) 3/4
Thaihot China Open MS K Srikanth Gold
WS Nehwal Saina (6) Gold
Scottish Open MS Pawar Anand (7) 3/4
WS Rane Saili 3/4
Macau Open MS HS Prannoy (3) 3/4
WS PV Sindhu (2) Gold
Yonex Welsh International WS Rane Saili (4) 3/4
Bangladesh Open International Challenge MS Dey Subhankar (1) Silver
MD Vashist Neeraj/Venkat Gaurav 3/4
WD Gadre Pradnya/Reddy Sikki (2) Gold
Mundada Shruti/Pillai Riya 3/4


BWF Destination Dubai SS Finals

MS K Shrikant 3/4
WS Nehwal Saina 3/4

* Vountus Indra Mawan is a Malayasian player.

The year 2015 seems more interesting with all this facts for the Indian Badminton fan. And moreover with the second edition of Indian Badminton league on the calender, its going to be super packed year.

Published 30 Dec 2014, 15:55 IST
Fetching more content...
Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit