New User posted their first comment

Indian shuttlers win most Superseries singles titles for any nation in 2017

BWF Destination Dubai World Superseries Finals - Day 4
Srikanth Kidambi won four Superseries titles alone in 2017
Modified 18 Dec 2017, 01:37 IST

The international badminton season for 2017 came to a close as the BWF Dubai World Superseries Finals came to an end on Sunday and for Indian fans, heartbreak was in store as PV Sindhu came agonizingly close to winning the final. Up against Japan's Akane Yamaguchi, Sindhu was edged out in a 94-minute battle that went right down to the wire.

The Indian has had a wonderful last 12 months, that saw her clinch two Superseries titles and for the nation's shuttlers, it was truly a watershed year that saw them clinch a total of seven Superseries crowns in singles, more than any other nation in the country.

Along with Sindhu's brace, four titles were won this year by Srikanth Kidambi, who reached as high as number two in the world rankings as a result of his incredible performances. He picked up his first tournament of the year at the Indonesia Open, where he defeated Kazumasa Sakai in the final.

He followed it up with another title win, this time at the Australian Open, where it was reigning Olympic champion Chen Long who was put to the sword. Two more titles came in the European swing of the tour at the French and Denmark Open. However, he was struck by injury in the last stages of season and lost all three of his group stage games at the Superseries Finals.

The remaining title was won at the Singapore Open, where it was Sai Praneeth who won the final by defeating Srikanth in three games.

Here is the list of all singles Superseries titles by shuttlers from each nation this season:

India - 7 (PV Sindhu x 2, Sai Praneeth, Srikanth Kidambi x 4)

Chinese Taipei - 5 (Tai Tzu Ying x 5)

Japan - 4 (Sayaka Sato, Nozomi Okuhara, Akane Yamaguchi x 2)


Denmark - 3 (Viktor Axelsen x 3)

Malaysia - 2 (Lee Chong Wei x 2)

China - 2 (Lin Dan, Chen Long)

Indonesia - 1 (Anthony Sinisuka Ginting)

Spain - 1 ( Carolina Marin)

Thailand - 1 (Ratchanok Intanon)

Published 18 Dec 2017, 01:37 IST
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now
❤ī¸ Favorites Edit