Syed Modi International Badminton 2019: Sourabh Verma vs Wang Tzu-Wei, Final, Where to watch, TV Schedule, Live Stream details and more 

Sourabh Verma, through to the finals
Sourabh Verma, through to the finals

A very determined Sourabh Verma entered the semi-finals of the Syed Modi International Badminton Championships 2019 against Korea's Heo Kwang Hee with an objective to give it his all. A gruelling 1 hour and 15 minutes later, the Indian shuttler emerged triumphant on the other end 21-17, 16-21, 21-18. Verma gave a gritty and dominating performance to storm into the finals of the tournament.

Ranked 39th in the world, Verma has enjoyed a good season of badminton in 2019. Most notably, he collected two Super 100 titles in Hyderabad and Vietnam, and that has given him the necessary impetus to take down higher-ranked players.

Heo Kwang Hee might have let Verma get to him in the first game but he, sure enough turned things around in the second as he bagged the game 16-21, forcing the match to go into a decider. Verma showed calm composure and deftly entered the third game and notched up his game to stay ahead of Kwang Hee to seize the match. The Madhya Pradesh boy looked in control in the final game of the match and his determination was enough to earn him a place in the final.

The 26-year-old Verma will meet the 24-year-old Wang Tzu-Weifrom from Taiwan for the gold medal. The eighth seeded player ousted former World No.1 Son Wan Ho to set up a date with Verma. Verma, given his form, can get a third title of the season and it promises to be an action-filled match on Sunday.

Here's all you need to know about the Syed Modi International Badminton Championships 2019 Schedule

Tournament: Syed Modi International Badminton Championships 2019

Category: Super 300

Prize Money: US$150,000

Venue: Babu Banarasi Das Indoor Stadium, Lucknow, India

Dates: November 24 - December 1, 2019

Time: Sourabh Verma v Wang Tzu-Wei [8] not before 2:00 P.M IST on 1st December 2019

Where to watch the matches in India?

The match will be telecasted live on Star Sports 1 and Star Sports 1 HD.

Live stream details

Live Stream will be available on

Quick Links

Edited by Atharva Papnoi
Be the first one to comment