Syed Modi International Badminton 2019: Where to watch, TV Schedule, Live Stream details and more

Srikanth Kidambi
Srikanth Kidambi

Srikanth Kidambi will spearhead the Indian challenge at the 2019 Syed Modi International Badminton Championships as the main draw begins in Lucknow from 27th November. The 36th and the last tournament of the 2019 BWF World Tour has been hit by a big number of withdrawals as the like of PV Sindhu, Saina Nehwal, and Ng Ka Long chose to stay away from the tournament.

Kidambi, who has not had a great 2019 season will look to finish it on a high note with a title at home. He had recently reached the semifinals of the Hong Kong Open 2019 but was handed a defeat by the eventual champion Lee Cheuk Yiu. At the India Open in March, Kidamdi had finished as the runner up, his best result of the year.

The world number 13 is joined by Sameer Verma, B Sai Praneeth, Sourabh Verma, Parupalli Kashyap and Ajay Jayaram among others. The Indian challenge will also see participation of 18-year old Lakshya Sen. Having won the Scottish Open 2019 just a few days back, Sen will be aiming to get his hands on the fifth title of the year. The youngster has been in a phenomenal form and would look to win his first Super 300 title.

 Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty
Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty

The Indian pair of Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty have been in a great form this year having won two titles. The duo won their first Super 500 title at the Thailand Open 2019 and were the runner-ups at the 2019 French Open Super 750 tournament. They were also the runners up at last year's Syed Modi International and would be eager to be the champions this year. They will be starting the tournament as the second seed behind the Chinese pair of Han Chengkai and Zhou Haodong.

With the withdrawals of Saina Nehwal and PV Sindhu, Mugdha Agrey and Tanvi Lad will be leading the Indian challenge in women's singles.

In the women's doubles, Ashwini Ponnappa will be teaming up with N. Sikki Reddy, starting their campaign against Hong Kong's Ng Tsz Yau and Yuen Sin Ying. Ponnappa and Sikki Reddy will be playing with Swastiksairaj and Pranaav Jerry Chopra respectively in the mixed doubles.

Here is all you need to know about the Syed Modi Badminton Championship 2019

Tournament: Syed Modi International Badminton Championships 2019

Category: Super 300

Prize Money: US$150,000

Venue: Babu Banarasi Das Indoor Stadium, Lucknow, India

Dates: November 24 - December 1, 2019

Where to watch the matches in India?

The Syed Modi Badminton matches will be telecast live on Star Sports 1 and Star Sports 1 HD from the semifinal round.

Live Stream Details and Info for the matches

Live Stream will be available on

Quick Links

Edited by Sai Teja
Be the first one to comment