Write & Earn

Yonex Denmark Open 2013 - Final results

Chen Long

Chen Long

Men’s doubles category:

In the first final of the day the eighth-seeded Korean pair of Lee Yong Dae and Yeon Seong Yoo defeated the top-seeded Indonesian pair of Mohammad Ahsan and Hendra Setiawan 21-19, 21-16 in a match which lasted just 33 minutes.

The Koreans kept their calm in the closely fought opening game and took the game 21-19 in 18 minutes. The second game was completely one-sided as the Korean pair completely outclassed their World No. 2 Indonesian opponents to win their first Superseries Premier title of the year.

Women’s singles category:

In the women’s singles category Chinese shuttler Wang Yihan clinched the title after defeating Ji Hyun Sung of South Korea 16-21, 21-18, 22-20.

Wang, who is the current World No. 5 and London Olympics silver medallist, defeated the World No. 6 Korean shuttler in a marathon final which lasted for an hour and 23 minutes.

Sung, who shattered Indian dreams in by defeating Saina Nehwal in the quarterfinals, started the match with a bang as she took the opening game in just 19 minutes. But the Chinese shuttler made a brilliant comeback in the next game as she took 3 consecutive points when the score was 18 all.

The third and decisive game of the match was the most interesting one; both the shuttlers were fighting hard for each and every point. From 12-12 Sung took the next 3 points to take a commanding lead of 3 points, but Wang was not in a mood to give up as she fought back strongly to level the scores. Sung gave her best to save two championships points at 20-18 but was unable to save the next one and lost the game 22-20.

Mixed doubles category:

In the third final of the day the top-seeded Chinese pair of Nan Zhang and Yunlei Zhao defeated the third-seeded Indonesian pair of Tontowi Ahmed and Lilyana Natsir 21-11, 22-20.

World No. 3 Indonesian pair were absolutely no match for the World No. 1 Chinese pair in the opening game. Zhang and Zhao, who are also the current Olympic champions, won the first game in just 13 minutes.

The Indonesian pair gave a tough fight to the top-seeded Chinese pair in the next game. But Zhao and Zhang, who were once down 17-20 in the second game, grabbed the next 5 points in quick succession to clinch the game 22-20.

Women’s doubles category:

In women’s doubles, the unseeded Chinese pair of Yixin Bao and Jinhua Tang defeated the second-seeded Danish pair of Christinna Pedersen and Kamilla Rytter Juhl 21-16, 21-13 in a completely one-sided match which ended in just 40 minutes.

The Danish pair started the match quite well as they took a 3-point lead at the start of the first game. But from 7-all the Chinese pair grabbed the next 4 points in a row to get a strong lead. The Danish pair tried their level best but were unable to recover, and eventually lost the game 16-21.

The second game was a lot similar to the first game. Again the local pair started the game quite well but after the mid-game interval they lost their momentum and hence lost the match.

Men’s singles category:

It was the battle of the best in the final of the men’s singles category in the Yonex Denmark Open. World No. 1 and two-time Olympic silver medallist Lee Chong Wei was up against the World No. 2 Chen Long of China.

Both the players gave their best to win the prestigious USD 400,000 tournament but it was the World No. 2 Chinese shuttler who prevailed over the more experienced Malaysian shuttler.

Lee Chong Wei, who was also the defending champion, lost to the Chinese player 20-22, 19-21 in a match which lasted for an hour and 8 minutes.

Overall, the Chinese contingent dominated the tournament as they won four of the five titles on offer.

Fetching more content...