5 best Indian boxers of all time

Dingko Singh

Indian boxers are a force to contend with on the world stage as they continue to win against some of the best boxers in international events. Women’s boxing made its debut at the 2012 London Olympics and the nation has witnessed a large number of women taking up the sport. Indian pugilists are now getting global exposure thanks to the increased number of matches and number of tournaments across the world.

#5 Dingko Singh

Dingko Singh

Dingko Singh came into the limelight after winning the King’s Cup in 1997 in Bangkok. The Manipur lad was declared the best boxer at the meet. Dingko was initially dropped from the 1998 Bangkok Asian Games boxing contingent, but later inducted.

He beat World No. 3 Thailand boxer Wong Prages Sontaya in the semifinals, which many considered a big upset. The Indian proved that he could go all the way when he clinched gold in the final beating Timur Tulyakov of Uzbekistan.

Dingko had moved to 51 Kg category from 54 Kg just a few months before the Bangkok Asiad.


Arjuna award - 1998

Padma Shri - 2013

#4 Sarita Devi

Sarita Devi

Laishram Sarita Devi was in the news recently after refusing to accept her bronze medal at the Incheon Asian Games. The Manipuri woman got all the stamina by helping her family collect firewood when she was young. She took up professional boxing in 2000 inspired by the achievements of Muhammed Ali.

Her medal record at various international events are as under:

Asian Championships:

Silver – 2001 Bangkok

Gold – 2003 Hisar

Gold – 2005 Kaohsiung City

Gold – 2008 Guwahati

Gold – 2010 Astana

Commonwealth Games – Silver – 2014 Glasgow

Asian Games – Bronze – 2014 Incheon

World Championships

Bronze – 2005 Podolsk

Gold – 2006 New Delhi

Bronze – 2008 Ningbo


Arjuna award – 2009

#3 Hawa Singh

Hawa Singh

Hawa Singh dominated Indian and the Asian Amateur boxing for a decade in the 60s and the early 70s. He won gold medals in consecutive Asian Games – 1966 Bangkok and 1970 Bangkok Games in the heavyweight category. No Indian boxer has equalled this feat so far.

He set up the Bhiwani boxing club which has produced 4 of the 5 boxers who took part in the Beijing Olympics in 2008.


Arjuna award – 1966

Dronacharya award – 1999

#2 Vijender Singh

Vijender Singh

Vijender had a difficult upbringing wherein his father drove buses to pay for his children’s education. He was inspired by his brother Manoj to take up boxing. Vijender underwent training at the Bhiwani boxing club under the guidance of coach Jagdish Singh.

His medals at the international stage include:

Bronze – 2006 Doha Asian Games

Silver – 2006 Melbourne Commonwealth Games

Bronze – 2008 Beijing Olympics

Bronze – 2009 World Amateur boxing Championships Milan

Bronze – 2010 Delhi Commonwealth Games

Gold – 2010 Guangzhou Asian games

Silver – 2014 Glasgow Commonwealth Games


Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award

#1 Mary Kom

Mary Kom

Mary Kom is one of the most decorated boxers in the world. She quit her school after Class 8 and gave her examination from NIOS, Imphal and graduated from Churachandpur College.

The success of Dingko Singh inspired her to take up boxing. She started her training under the guidance of M. Narjit Singh in Imphal. She has been an inspiration to many women boxers in India and the world. Mary runs a female-only fight club at Imphal to teach girls to defend themselves against sexual violence. Her auto-biography β€œUnbreakable” was released in 2013. Mary Kom, the movie released this year and the lead role was portrayed by Priyanka Chopra.

Her incredible achievements over the years:

Asian Women’s Boxing Championship:

Gold – 2003 Hisar

Gold – 2005 Kaohsiung

Silver – 2008 Guwahati

Gold – 2010 Astana

Gold – 2012 Ulaanbaatar

Women’s World Amateur Boxing Championships:

Silver – 2001 Scranton

Gold – 2002 Antalya

Gold – 2005 Podolsk

Gold – 2006 New Delhi

Gold – 2008 Ningpo City

Gold – 2010 Bridgetown

Asian Games:

Bronze – 2010 Guangzhou

Gold – 2014 Incheon

Olympic Games:

Bronze – 2012 London

Quick Links

Edited by Staff Editor
Be the first one to comment