New User posted their first comment

Women's boxing championship: Sarjubala Devi, Pinki Jangra bask in glory

Suhrid Barua
Modified 17 Oct 2014, 11:03 IST
Sarjubala Devi

Sarjubala Devi dominates light flyweight

Sarjubala Devi tasted glory for the second time in the Senior National Women’s Boxing Championship, clinching the gold in the light flyweight category (45-48 kg), outboxing Haryana’s Sweety in the Boxing India-organised event which concluded at the Balbir Juneja Indoor Stadium in Raipur, Chhattisgar.

The 2011 World Youth Boxing Championship gold medallist, who had won the 2011 Senior Nationals in Bhopal, was head over shoulders over her Haryana opponent, unleashing punches consistently to carry the day.

The 21-year-old Manipur lass can remain optimistic about a berth in the national team for the upcoming World Women’s Boxing Championship slated to be held in Jeju Islands, Korea in the second week of November.

Pinki Jangra in contention for World Cup

Pinki Jangra who replaced iconic MC Mary Kom in the 2014 Glasgow Commonwealth Games by beating her in the national trials in Patiala, did her chances of making to the World Cup squad no harm after putting it across Mizoram’s Rebecca Lalinmawil to win the gold in the flyweight category (48-51kg). The 2014 Glasgow Commonwealth Games bronze medallist, representing Railway Sports Promotion Board, towered over her Mizoram opponent and soon turned into a one-sided affair.

2011 World Youth Boxing Championship bronze medallist Pwilao Basumatary representing Railway Sports Promotion Board won the featherweight crown (54-57kg) prevailing over Preeti Beniwal of All India Police (AIP). Railway’s Priyanka Choudhary pipped Tripura’s Priya to corner glory in the light weight category (57-60 kg). Pavitra of Railways Sports Promotion Board put it across 2011 World Youth Boxing Championship gold medallist Minu Basumatary of Assam in the light welterweight category (60-64 kg).

The tournament saw some ‘south’ flavour with Meena Kumari winning the bantamweight crown (51-54kg) and later emerging as the most promising boxer as well. The welter weight (64-69 kg) and middle weight categories (69-75) were won by Railways’ Neetu and Monica Saun. Haryana’s Saweety won the light heavy weight crown (75-81 kg), while Kavita of All India Police (AIP) bagged the super heavyweight (+81 kg) crown.   

Published 17 Oct 2014, 11:00 IST
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit