Favorites Edit

Sarjubala, Nikhit advance to semifinals of Women's National boxing championship

Press Release
736   //    22 Nov 2016, 19:51 IST
Sarjubala of Manipur staved off a challenge from Delhi's Pooja Tokas and edged past 3-2

2014 World Championship silver medallist Sarjubala Devi and former junior world champion Nikhit Zareen continued their good run and progressed to the semifinals of their respective weight category at the Women's National Boxing Championship here today.

In the 48 kg category, the two-time former national champion, Sarjubala of Manipur staved off a challenge from Delhi's Pooja Tokas and edge past 3-2, while in the flyweight (51kg) division, Talengana's Zareen, a former Youth World Championships silver medallist, thrashed Assam's Manju Basumatary 5-0 in a one-sided contest in the quarterfinals.

Among others in light fly weight (46-48kg) category, Uttarakhand's Krishna Thapa scored a technical knockout over Pondicherry's Bhuvaneshari in round one of her quarterfinal bout. Haryana's Monika outwitted Sudesh, who was representing All India Police, 4-1 to make it to the semifinals, while RSPB's Rajesh Narwal outboxed Kerala's Maria Thomas 3-0 in a lop-sided contests to reach the last four.

In 51kg category, Neeraja of Haryana defeated Manipur's Yaisana Chanu with an unanimous decision of 5-0 scoreline, while RSPB's Meenakshi surpassed Himachal Pradesh's Jamuna Devi by scoring a technical knockout in the second round of her quarterfinal bout. Local favourite Poonam Bist too saw off her rival Tensunaro Tsudir of Nagaland via a technical knockout in the third round to reach the semis.      

In 64kg category, Pavitra, who represents the Railways Sports Promotion Board, reached the semifinals after edging past 2-1 against Simranjit Kaur of Punjab, while Suman of All India Police didn't have much difficulty it getting past A Manisha of Andra Pradesh.

Haryana's Jyoti and Delhi's Akansha Mishra too reached the final four after notching up contrasting wins over their respective opponents. While Jyoti trounced Mohini of Maharashtra 3-0, Akansha eked out a close 2-1 win over Manjinder of Chandigarh.

In 69kg category, Meghalaya's Mainu R Syngkli was outwitted by Pooja of Haryana, who defeated her by technical knockout in the third round, while Suman, representing Railways Sports Promotion Board, hardly broke any sweat as she outclassed Gagandeep Kaur 3-0 to reach the final four.

Shashi kala of Himachal Pradesh had a tough time against Memthoi Devi of Manipur but she eventually prevailed 3-2, while Sarika Kumari of Jharkhand was unanimously adjudged 3-0 winner against Sohni of Chandigarh.

Other accomplished boxers in action including Kavita Chahal (HAR), Kamla Bist (UTK) also advanced to semi finals. 

Press Release
Fetching more content...