Favorites Edit

2017-18 Ranji trophy, first round, day 3 round-up: Uttar Pradesh fail to chase 94

3.36K   //    08 Oct 2017, 17:49 IST

Suresh Raina couldn't take his team home in a chase of 94
Suresh Raina couldn't take his team home in a chase of 94

The presence of R Ashwin and Murali Vijay couldn't help Tamil Nadu from registering a win as B Sandeep's century gave Andhra the upper hand as the visitors took a first-innings lead of 133. Abhinav Mukund's unbeaten fifty put things back on track the hosts but still, they trail Andhra by 21 runs at the end of day 3.

Jalaj Saxena's all-round show of 11 wickets in the match and a crucial unbeaten 54 in the first innings helped Kerala register a win over last year's semi-finalists Jharkhand.

Six wickets each from Jaydev Unadkat and Shaurya Sanandia in the match helped Saurashtra beat Haryana by an innings and 39 runs and earn a bonus point for the innings victory.

Indian discard Suresh Raina tried his best to take Uttar Pradesh home but a batting collapse in the second innings chasing 94 saw his team lose to Railways by 21 runs. Uttar Pradesh had the game in their hand till lunch on day 3 until the Railways bowlers took charge and blew away the hosts.

Also read: Murali Vijay injured in a Ranji Trophy match against Andhra

Here is a brief summary of what happened on day 3 of the first round.

Trivandrum: Kerala 259 and 34/1 (KB Arun Karthick 27*) beat Jharkhand 202 and 89 (Saurabh Tiwary 26*, Jalaj Saxena 5/27, M Kareparambil 4/42) by 9 wickets.

Lahli: Haryana 107 and 140 (CK Bishnoi 56, Jaydev Unadkat 3/55, Chirag Jani 2/12, Shaurya Sanandia 2/18) lost to Saurashtra 278 by an innings and 31 runs.

Lucknow: Uttar Pradesh 250 and 72 (Suresh Raina 29, Avinash Yadav 4/26, Anureet Singh 3/25) lost to Railways 182 and 161 (Arindam Ghosh 57, Ankit Rajpoot 4/34) by 21 runs.


Delhi (Palam ground): Bengal 552/9 decl. and 77/0 (Abhishek Raman 40*, Abhimanyu Easwaran 31*) lead Services 359 (NK Singh 121, Aamir Gani 5/109) by 270 runs. 

Chennai: Tamil Nadu 176 and 112/2 (Abhinav Mukund 54*) trail Andhra 309 (B Sandeep 109, Ashwin Hebbar 64, R Ashwin 4/71) by 21 runs.

Bhubaneshwar: Tripura 6/0 vs Odisha.

Indore: Baroda 302 (Yusuf Pathan 111, Irfan Pathan 80, Ishwar Pandey 2/44) and 41/1 (Aditya Waghmode 31) trail Madhya Pradesh 551/8 decl. by 208 runs.

Jaipur: Jammu and Kashmir 432/6 (Ahmad Omar Banday 102, Parvez Rasool 97, Ian Chauhan 79) lead Rajasthan 330 by 102 runs. 

Delhi (Ferozshah Kotla): Assam 258 and 60/3 (Sibsankar Roy 28*, Navdeep Saini 2/13) trail Delhi 435 (Gautam Gambhir 137, Nitish Rana 110, Anuj Rawat 71) by 117 runs.

Goa: Goa 223/4 (Sumiran Amonkar 79, Sagun Kamat 47) trail Chhattisgarh 458 by 235 runs. 

Dharamsala: Punjab 484/6 (Abhishek Gupta 129*, Abhishek Sharma 81*, Jiwanjot Singh 59, GK Singh 5/118) trail Himachal Pradesh 729/8 decl. by 245 runs.

Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...