Favorites Edit

2017 Vijay Hazare Trophy: Team of the Tournament

51.16K   //    20 Mar 2017, 17:51 IST

Middle order

Dinesh Karthik was the leading run scorer in the tournament

Krunal Pandya, who caught everyone’s eyes in the 2016 IPL, impressed with both bat and ball for Baroda in the tournament. Batting at number 3, Krunal ended the tournament as the fifth highest run scorer and at the same time, he also starred with the ball for his team.

He took 11 wickets at an average of 25 in 8 matches with an economy of under 5 and with the bat, Krunal scored 366 runs at an average of 46 in the same number of matches. 

Dinesh Karthik sent a message to the selectors ahead of the Champions Trophy by piling on the runs in the tournament. The wicketkeeper-batsman ended up as the leading run-scorer as he scored 607 runs in 8 innings at an average of 87. He scored his runs at a rate of 102 runs per 100 balls and is the only batsman to have six fifty-plus scores including two centuries.

He was crucial in leading Tamil Nadu to the title as he scored a match-winning century in the finals.

Following Karthik will be former Indian skipper MS Dhoni, who had a good tournament for Jharkhand. He opted to play in this tournament to get some valuable match practice ahead of the 2017 Champions Trophy.

Dhoni didn’t disappoint as he amassed 330 runs in seven innings at an average of 66 and scored his runs at almost a run a ball. He also scored a century when Jharkhand were reeling at 57/6 and took his team to a respectable total of 243 in 50 overs.

Kedar Jadhav scored his runs at a strike-rate of 137

India’s find in the three-match ODI series against England, Kedar Jadhav, had a tournament to remember and makes it to the team of the tournament. Jadhav continued from where he left off against England as he scored his 375 runs (7 innings) at an average of 54 and a strike-rate of 137. 

Manoj Tiwary, the one who led Bengal to the finals, completes the middle-order of the team of the tournament. He looked good in the Syed Mushtaq Ali tournament and continued his form to the Vijay Hazare Trophy in which he scored 378 runs in 9 innings at an average of 54. 

Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...