Favorites Edit

AB de Villiers to miss South Africa's Test series against Bangladesh

6.91K   //    27 May 2015, 14:24 IST
AB de Villiers will be on paternity leave during the Bangladesh Test series

South Africa are set to have a new look for their upcoming two-match Test series against Bangladesh in July-August with the selectors having named no less than four uncapped players – Reeza Hendricks, Dane Vilas, Aaron Phangiso and Kagiso Rabada – in the squad. While several of the senior players were expected to be rested, the selectors have resisted doing so with the likes of Dale Steyn and Vernon Philander, instead, being rested for the preceding 3-match ODI series.

The Test squad is pretty much full strength with AB de Villiers being the only first-choice player missing the series, as a result of his wife expecting to give birth during that time. Having played 98 Tests consecutively since his debut in 2004, this will be the first time ever that the 31-year-old will be missing a Test match in his illustrious career.

Alviro Petersen, meanwhile, has retired from international cricket following South Africa’s most recent Test series against West Indies.

“The changes have been brought about partly by the retirement of Alviro Petersen and the non-availability of AB de Villiers who has been granted paternity leave,” Andrew Hudson, Cricket South Africa (CSA) selection convener, said.

“Reeza and Stiaan van Zyl are both options to open the batting and Stiaan can also be used in AB’s batting position in the middle-order. Dane provides us with the wicketkeeping cover that would normally also be AB’s responsibility.

“Aaron gives us a left-arm spin bowling option and we see this as the ideal opportunity to involve Kagiso in the Test team environment once again, so he will be the back-up fast bowling option.”

As far as South Africa’s T20 squad is concerned, there is only one uncapped player in leg-spinner Eddie Leie. With the 2016 World T20 scheduled to be held in India, Hudson explained that they are looking to blood in bowlers whose style will be suited to the subcontinent.

“With next year’s ICC World Twenty20 to be played in India we need to explore our bowling options under sub-continent conditions,” Hudson added. “Morris has done well in the IPL as have David Wiese and Beuran Hendricks and this tour represents an important opportunity to broaden their international playing experience.”

South Africa begin their tour with a two-match T20 series which starts on July 5, followed by 3 ODIs and 2 Tests.


Test squad: Hashim Amla (capt), Dean Elgar, Reeza Hendricks, Faf du Plessis, Stiaan van Zyl, JP Duminy, Quinton de Kock, Vernon Philander, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Aaron Phangiso, Simon Harmer, Temba Bavuma, Kagiso Rabada, Dane Vilas

ODI squad: AB de Villiers (capt), Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis, Rilee Rossouw, JP Duminy, David Miller, Farhaan Behardien, Chris Morris, Morne Morkel, Imran Tahir, Kagiso Rabada, Kyle Abbott, Aaron Phangiso, Wayne Parnell, Ryan McLaren

T20 squad: Faf du Plessis (capt), AB de Villiers, Quinton de Kock, Rilee Rossouw, JP Duminy, David Miller, David Wiese, Chris Morris, Eddie Leie, Kagiso Rabada, Kyle Abbott, Aaron Phangiso, Wayne Parnell, Beuran Hendricks

Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...