Bangladesh name unchanged squad for second Test

Bangladesh cricket
Bangladesh have chosen to retain the same squad that almost pulled off an upset against the Proteas in the first Test

Chittagong, July 26 (IANS)

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) selectors have reposed their faith in the team that played South Africa in the first Test at Chittagong. There are no changes in the squad that takes on the Proteas in the second Test at Mirpur.

The BCB named a 14-man squad on Saturday, on the last day of the rain-marred Chittagong Test that ended in a draw following incessant rain in the last two days, reports

Teenage seamer Mustafizur Rahman retained his place in the side after his three wickets in an over performance here. Youngsters Jubair Hossain and Liton Das were also retained after their impressive performances. Leg-spinner Jubair grabbed three wickets while wicketkeeper-batsman Liton Das took three catches and played a fine knock of 50.

The second and final Test will start at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur on Thursday.

Rubel Hossain, Soumya Sarkar and Nasir Hossain have been retained but whether any of them makes it into the playing 11 remains to be seen.

The squad

Mushfiqur Rahim (captain), Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Liton Das, Mominul Haque, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Soumya Sarkar, Nasir Hossain, Tijul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Mohammad Shahid, Mustafizur Rahman, Jubair Hossain.

Quick Links

Edited by Staff Editor
Be the first one to comment