BCCI Awards: Rohit Sharma, R Ashwin and Ishwar Pandey awarded for their contributions


At the 7th annual BCCI awards ceremony held yesterday, various past and present cricketers were honoured. Among these, the following are noteworthy winners:

Indian batsman Ravichandran Ashwin celebrates after scoring a century (100 runs) during the fourth day's play of the third Test cricket match between India and West Indies at The Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on November 25, 2011. AFP PHOTO/Punit PARANJPE (Photo credit should read PUNIT PARANJPE/AFP/Getty Images)

Ashwin had a very good year with both bat and ball

1. R Ashwin was awarded the Polly Umrigar trophy for taking 43 wickets and scoring 263 runs during the last season. He was also awarded a cash prize of Rs. 5 lakh

2. Rohit Sharma was given the Dileep Sardesai award for the best cricketer during the last year. He too was given a cash prize of Rs. 5 lakhs.

3. Jiwanjot Singh was also awarded the Madhavrao Scindia trophy for scoring the most runs in the Ranji Trophy.

4. Ishwar Pandey was given the Madhavrao Scindia award for taking maximum wickets in the last Ranji season.

5. Abhishek Nayar was given the Lala Amarnath award for being the best all rounder of 2012-13 in the Rani Trophy. He also won Rs. 2.5 lakh

Veterans Kapil Dev, Farooq Engineer, Eknath Solkar and Bapu Nadkarni were also felicitated for their contribution to Indian cricket.

Edited by Staff Editor


Quick Links:

More from Sportskeeda
Fetching more content...