Favorites Edit

BCCI and Cricket South Africa name future series Mahatma Gandhi - Nelson Mandela Series

2.45K   //    31 Aug 2015, 17:44 IST
The India – South Africa bilateral series has been renamed as “The Mahatma Gandhi – Nelson Mandela Series” and the Test series will be played for the “Freedom Trophy”

Confirming what had been reported earlier, The Board of Cricket Control in India and Cricket South Africa have announced that all future Test series between the two nations will be called “The Mahatma Gandhi – Nelson Mandela Series”. The Test series will be played for the Freedom Trophy which will be dedicated to Gandhi and Mandela respectively reported  

The BCCI President Jagmohan Dalmiya told, “The struggle for freedom has been the common thread between our countries. Mahatma Gandhi and Nelson Mandela liberated our nations with non-violence and non-co-operation as their weapons which have inspired the world, to adopt and achieve their goals in a peaceful manner. We dedicate this trophy to Mahatma and Madiba, the guiding souls of our nations.”  

Gandhi and Mandela who both believed in non-violence and spent most of their lives helping their respective countries usurp their colonial rulers will be given this recognition.

CSA President, Mr Chris Nenzani, said “The revered names of Mahatma Gandhi and Nelson Mandela leave us with a huge responsibility to live up to the legacies they have left us. Above all else they stood for doing the right thing and persevered at great personal cost to achieve freedom for their country regardless of how long it took them.  

The tour consists of four Tests, five ODI’s and three T20’s.

Eternal news for Indian and South African people: Former ICC President

BCCI secretary, Anurag Thakur, said: “The Test Series has been christened as the ‘Freedom Trophy’. Freedom for which Mahatma Gandhi and Nelson Mandela sacrificed their lives and thereby allowed a nation to be born free from years of bondage and suppression.

“BCCI, on behalf of every citizen of our country is able to pay tribute to these great leaders by naming the series after them and appeal to each and every citizen of our country to imbibe their ideals and follow the path advised by them," he added.

Former ICC President and CSA Chief Executive, Haroon Lorgat also spoke in the light of the naming of the series and said, “For the people of both our countries there is no greater duty than to uphold the ideals of both Mahatma Gandhi and Nelson Mandela. As cricket loving people we must fight hard to win on the field of play but never forget to do battle in the spirit of these two great men.

“Naming all future bilateral series between our two countries after Mahatma Gandhi and Nelson Mandela is eternal news for our people and cricketers and I would like to thank the Nelson Mandela Foundation for their support,” concluded Lorgat.

The series is set to begin on the 2nd of October and goes on till the 7th of December. 

Topics you might be interested in:
Cricket Crazy, Football Fanatic, Tennis Lover. Things I love, playing sports and writing. Aspiring Sports Journalist. Blog-
Fetching more content...