Favorites Edit

BCCI makes changes to the Ranji points system

4.19K   //    19 May 2015, 21:14 IST
Karnataka are the defending Ranji Trophy Champions

In what has been seen as a major change, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has decided to do away with the points that are given to teams for securing first innings leads in the Ranji Trophy from this new season. This move could well prompt teams to be aggressive and go for the win rather than grind out for just the first innings lead which has been a regular occurrence over the years.

From now on, for a team to earn a bonus point they must have scored 300 runs in 85 overs and should have taken 7 wickets in the first 85 overs in the first innings. 

"It was a fruitful discussion with an increased focus on strengthening domestic cricket. These recommendations are a summary of three major meetings, which includes the captains and coaches conclave and the technical committee meetings, this year. We hope that some of the measures suggested, will make domestic cricket more interesting and challenging," Kumble said in a media release.

Also, there were changes recommended by the BCCI for the other domestic competitions too. The Vijay Hazare one-day tournament winner will play in the 2015-15 Duleep Trophy alongside two teams picked by the BCCI. And the Syed Mustaq Ali Trophy's first phase will no longer have a zonal system and instead it will have four groups. 

Since India are hosting the World T20 next year, the BCCI's technical committee has proposed to postpone the Duleep Trophy to avoid a clash. 

Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...