Favorites Edit

Chattisgarh elevated to full member status by BCCI, to compete as 28th team in Ranji Trophy

14.68K   //    19 Feb 2016, 15:35 IST
The Ranji Trophy tournament last had a team added in 1985/86

The 2016-17 Ranji Trophy season will feature a new team. Chattisgarh will make their entry into India’s premier domestic first-class competition as the 28th team. CSCS had fulfilled the criteria for this promotion back in 2013, and they have now finally been rewarded.

The Ranji Trophy has been a 27-team tournament since 1985/86. The last team to be added was Tripura. As we count down to the final match of the 15/16 edition, we have come to know that there will be one addition to the historic tournament’s roster of teams next season.

According to the CSCS Secretary, at least 10 players who hail from Chattisgarh currently play for other Ranji sides, and this is a trend that can be stopped now. 

Chhattisgarh, which was carved out of Madhya Pradesh in 2000, has a world-class stadium in the state capital, Raipur. The stadium has hosted several IPL matches, and has proved itself to be a potential world-class venue.

Harpreet Bhatia, Srikanth Aiyar, Manoj Singh, Amandeep Khare and Abhishek Khare are a few known names in the Indian domestic circuit who hail from Chattisgarh, and will hopefully form the core of the newly-formed side.

Affidavit in response to Lodha recommendations

In the recent BCCI special general body meeting (SGM), it was decided that the Associate member would be promoted to the status of a Full member, with full voting rights. Bihar’s cricket association was also allowed to attend the meeting, after a gap of three years.

The SGM also authorised president Shashank Manohar and secretary Anurag Thakur to file an affidavit in response to the recommendations by Supreme Court-appointed Justice R.M. Lodha's panel’s suggestions with the aim of an overhaul of Indian cricket’s administration.

The affidavit will attempt to convince the Supreme Court of the un-practicability of the reforms suggested.

Mrityunjay Tiwary, the BCA secretary, was in attendance as representative of Bihar’s association in the meeting. Bihar cricket has been in a state of ruin for the last few years as a result of infighting, and they have been barred from all BCCI meetings.

Manipur and Sikkim are the two other Associate members of the BCCI who are pushing for their own Ranji teams. Chattisgarh have been performing well in BCCI’s junior tournaments for the last two years, and junior stars from this state will now have a senior team to be promoted into.

Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...