⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

10 Asian Cricketers who turned politicians

13 Mar 2019, 15:35 IST

#3 Navjot Singh Sidhu

Navjot Singh Sidhu joined Indian National Congress in 2017
Navjot Singh Sidhu joined Indian National Congress in 2017

Navjot Singh Sidhu was famous for his flamboyant batting style in cricket. Sidhu preferred hitting balls over the bowlers' heads. His ability to hit sixes frequently earned him the title of 'Sixer Sidhu'

Sidhu is one of the finest orators in politics. He contested his first Parliamentary election in 2004 from Amritsar and held the seat till 2014. Sidhu got nominated for the Rajya Sabha in 2016. However, he resigned to join the Indian National Congress in 2017. He then contested assembly elections from Amritsar East and is currently, Minister of Tourism and Cultural Affairs in the state.

#4 Kirti Azad

Kirti Azad was part of India
Kirti Azad was part of India's 1983 World Cup winning team

Kirti Azad is the former Indian cricketer who represented the country in the 1980s. He was part of the Indian team that won the World Cup under Kapil Dev's captaincy. Azad represented India in 25 ODIs and 7 Tests.

Azad is the son of the former Chief Minister of Bihar - Bhagwat Jha Azad. After retiring from cricket, Azad followed his father's footsteps and contested Parliamentary elections on a BJP ticket from Darbangha, Bihar. However, in his third term of Lok Sabha, he quit the BJP to join INC in 2019.

Fetching more content...