Favorites Edit

Delhi, Madhya Pradesh, Services register big wins (Ranji Trophy Roundup)

644   //    18 Dec 2012, 21:57 IST

New Delhi - Delhi and Services won their Ranji Trophy matches in convincing fashion here Tuesday.

Delhi beat Maharashtra by seven wickets in their Group B match held at the Roshanara Club Ground while Services thrashed Jammu and Kashmir by five wickets at the Palam Ground.

Delhi started the final day needing 270 runs to win. Shikhar Dhawan led from the front with a captain knock of 116 as Delhi achieved 273 in the second innings. Mohit Sharma (51) and Mithun Manhas (51) also came up with crucial half-centuries.

In the other corner of the city, it didn’t take Services long to wrap-up their Group C match in the first session. Resuming at 71/4, Services took 21.3 overs to achieve the target of 134. Yashpal Singh made 61 while Rajat Paliwal remained unbeaten on 47.

In Gwalior, Madhya Pradesh captain Devendra Bundela hit a century in each innings to end Punjab’s unbeaten run this season.

Chasing a target of 190, Madhya Pradesh started the day at 8/2. But all-rounder Jalaj Saxena struck an unbeaten 72 and Bundela added an unbeaten 100 as Madhya Pradesh made 193.

In Mysore, Karnataka picked up three first innings lead points from their drawn match with Vidarbha who were all out for 447 in reply to home team’s total of 619 for eight declared in the Group B Ranji Trophy match.

Karnataka, who were 81 for three in their second knock when the match was called off, took their tally to 14 points from six outings, while Vidarbha, who received one point, moved to 13 also after six games.

Vidarbha, who resumed at 302 for two, lost both their overnight not out batsmen Shalab Srivasava (97, 247b, 11×4) and Amol Ubarhande (137, 292b, 19×4) followed by veteran Hemang Badani (11) as they slid to 338 for five.


The visitors never recovered from these blows and were eventually all out for 447 with tail-enders Gaurav Upadyaya (38) and skipper Sairaj Bahutule (48) offering some resistance as seamer Abhimanyu Mithun picked up four for 60 and left-arm spinner KP Appanna three for 109 from 50 overs.

Brief scores:

Group A:

At Gwalior: Madhya Pradesh 323 all out and 193/2 (Devendra Bundela 100 not out, Jalaj Saxena 72 not out). Punjab 148 all out and 364. Madhya Pardesh won by eight wickets.

At Bhubaneswar: Railways 405. Rajasthan 135 and 258 all out (Robin Bist 68, Ashok Menaria 56; Karan Sharma 8/97). Railways won by an innings and 12 runs.

At Rajkot: Mumbai 606/5 decl and 169/5 (Wasim Jaffer 71, Rohit Sharma 71). Saurashtra 300. Match drawn.

Group B:

At Delhi: Maharashtra 196 and 266. Delhi 193 and 273/3 (Shikhar Dhawan 116 not out, Mohit Sharma 51, Mithun Manhas 51). Delhi won by seven wickets.

At Vadodara: Baroda 208 and 260. Tamil Nadu 230 and 108/2. Match drawn.

At Lucknow: Uttar Pradesh 227 and 348 (Eklavya Dwivedi 121, Tanmay Srivastava 73). Haryana 276 and 106/3. Match drawn.

At Mysore: Karnataka 619/8 decl and 81/3. Vidarbha 447. Match drawn.

Group C:

At Porvorim: Himachal Pradesh 338 and 237/4 (Paras Dogra 119 not out). Goa 347 all out (Reagan Pinto 85, Swapnil Asnodkar 81; Rahul Singh 5/71). Match drawn.

At Dhanbad: Jharkhand 257 and 295. Andhra Pradesh 410 and 32/4. Match drawn.

At Delhi: Jammu and Kashmir 85 and 269. Services 221 and 134/5. Services won by five wickets.

At Agartala: Kerala 400. Tripura 127 and 196 (Sandeep Warrier 5/46, Unnikrishnan Manukrishnan 3/61). Kerala won by an innings and 77 runs.

Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...