Favorites Edit

Deodhar Trophy 2016: Thrilling semi-final sees Gujarat's chase come up short against India B

1.02K   //    26 Jan 2016, 17:28 IST
Unmukt Chand added 63 runs for India B

The first semi finals of the Deodhar Trophy between India B and Gujarat saw a thrilling climax as India B successfully defended their score of 280 runs.

Gujarat had won the toss and elected to bowl first at Green Park, Kanpur. India B were led by Unmukt Chand who had 63 runs from 70 balls. Stuart Binny was the next leading scorer for India B with 41 runs from 48 balls. Suryakumar Yadav added 47 runs from 51 balls. Dinesh Karthik added 28 runs from 28 balls.

Mehul Patel allowed the most runs for Gujarat as he gave up 69 runs. But he added 3 wickets. Both Rush Kalaria and Santosh Shinde added 2 wickets each.

Gujarat had a daunting chase to pursue as their openers went out for a combined 32 runs. Dhwanil Patel went out for just 5 runs and Priyank Panchal added 27 runs from 34 balls.

The next batsman Raxlee Taylor fell for 2 runs after facing 19 deliveries. The captain Manpreet Juneja stabilized the situation for Gujarat a bit with his 50 runs off 49 balls. Rujul Bhatt supported him with his 45 runs from 62 balls.

Chirag Gandhi was the only player to score a century this match as he scored an undefeated 100 runs from 77 balls. But three of the next five batsmen, Santosh Shinde, RP Singh and Hardik Patel went out for ducks.

After 48 overs Gujarat were at 256 runs with 9 wickets lost. They needed 25 runs from 2 overs. They proceeded to score 10 runs in the next over bringing the total to 266. Chirag Gandhi opened the over with a sixer off a Suryakumar delivery to bring his total to 99 runs. But he took one run in the next delivery and got out. Hardik Patel was run out in the next delivery giving India B the win.

Gujarat almost completed a thrilling chase after what seemed like a lost cause.

Here are the line ups for both teams:

India B: Unmukt Chand (c), Mayank Agarwal, Baba Aparajith, Stuart Binny, Shreyas Iyer, Sheldon Jackson, Dinesh Karthik, Dhawal Kulkarni, Pawan Negi, Sachin Baby, Karn Sharma, Nathu Singh, Shardul Thakur, Jayant Yadav, Surya Kumar Yadav

Gujarat: Parthiv Patel (c), Mehul Patel, Priyank Kirit Panchal, Rujul Bhatt, Chirag Gandhi, Manpreet Juneja, Rush Kalaria, Kavish Panchal, Axar Patel, Dhwanil Patel, Hardik Patel, Karan Patel, Santosh Shinde, RP Singh, Raxlee Taylor

Topics you might be interested in:
Name's Siddarth Sharma- Hoop, run, write, rinse, repeat. Awards- Sportskeeda Basketball Writer of the Year (2016)- Sportskeeda Veteran Keeda (2010-2012)-
Fetching more content...