New User posted their first comment

Elton Chigumbura dropped as Zimbabwe gear up for New Zealand Tests

Zimbabwe Test Team
Zimbabwe’s previous Test victory came against Pakistan in 2013
Ram Kumar
Modified 21 Jul 2016, 23:02 IST

Zimbabwe have unveiled a 16-member squad for the forthcoming two-Test series against New Zealand at home. Graeme Cremer was named captain after making his comeback in the longest format.

The biggest name missing was Elton Chigumbura who had led the limited-overs team until this January. The selection committee seemed to have taken note of the 30-year old’s struggles against the red-ball while making the decision.

Prince Masvaure, an uncapped batsman in the international circuit, got just reward for his prolific recent form. The left-hander scored 277 runs from four innings at an average of 92.33 with a century and fifty each against a South Africa ‘A’ bowling attack which included Test specialist Vernon Philander.

The squad featured all-rounder Chamu Chibhabha who has 96 ODI caps to his name. The likes of Peter Moor and Taurai Muzarabani also found themselves in contention for Test debuts following their limited-overs forays.

Also Read: Graeme Cremer – All you need to know about the newly appointed Zimbabwe Captain

Opening batsman Tino Mawoyo along with the experienced Sean Williams return to the side. The seam bowling duo of Njabulo Ncube and Donald Tiripano meanwhile might compete for sharing the new ball with Tendai Chatara.

Zimbabwe last played a Test series in Bangladesh during November 2014 which ended in a 0-3 loss. Their previous victory came against Pakistan in 2013 when Brendan Taylor was still captain.

Despite security concerns, New Zealand have gone ahead with the tour which will kick start from the 28th in Bulawayo. The second Test has been scheduled at the same venue too.

Full Squad: Graeme Cremer (C), Sikandar Raza, Regis Chakabva, Brian Chari, Tendai Chatara, Chamu Chibhabha, Craig Ervine, Hamilton Masakadza, Prince Masvaure, Tino Mawoyo, Peter Moor, Richmond Mutumbami, Taurai Muzarabani, Njabulo Ncube, Donald Tiripano and Sean Williams

Published 21 Jul 2016, 22:53 IST
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit