New Zealand Cricket

New Zealand Cricket

Full NameNew Zealand Cricket Team

Nick NameBlack Caps

GroundSeddon Park

Prominent PlayersKane Williamson, Ross Taylor, Trent Boult, Tim Southee, Martin Guptill, Colin Munro

RECENT FIXTURES All Cricket Fixtures→

L May 03 2023
New Zealand
287/6 (50 ov)
261/10 (49.1 ov)
L May 05 2023
New Zealand
334/6 (50 ov)
232/10 (43.4 ov)
W May 07 2023
New Zealand
252/10 (46.1 ov)
299/10 (49.3 ov)

Michael Bracewell All Rounder Left Handed 32
Mark Chapman Batsman Left Handed 28
Daryl Mitchell All Rounder Right Handed 32
Mitchell Santner All Rounder Left Handed 31
Michael Rippon All Rounder Right Handed 31
Finn Allen Wicketkeeper Right Handed 24
Dane Cleaver Wicketkeeper Right Handed 31
Devon Conway Wicketkeeper Left Handed 31
Glenn Phillips Wicketkeeper Right Handed 26
Jacob Duffy Bowler Right Arm 28
Lockie Ferguson Bowler Right Arm 31
Benjamin Lister Bowler Left Arm 27
Henry Shipley Bowler Right Arm 27
Ish Sodhi Bowler Right Arm 30
Blair Tickner Bowler Right Arm 29
Tom Blundell Wicketkeeper Right Handed 32
Tom Latham Wicketkeeper Left Handed 31
Kane Williamson Batsman Right Handed 32
Henry Nicholls Batsman Left Handed 31
Will Young Batsman Right Handed 30
Tim Southee Bowler Right Arm 34
Matt Henry Bowler Right Arm 31
Ajaz Patel Bowler Left Arm 34
Neil Wagner Bowler Left Arm 37
Doug Bracewell All Rounder Right Handed 32

Captain - Kane Williamson

Coach - Gary Stead

Representing - New Zealand

Team colour - Black

Sponsorships - Canterbury, ANZ

Table of Contents

  1. History
  2. ICC Cricket World Cup
  3. ICC T20 World Cup
  4. ICC Champions Trophy
  5. Governing Body
  6. Support Staff
  7. The New Zealand Team Jersey
  8. Records
  9. Trophies and Awards
  10. Fan following

The New Zealand cricket team represents the country of New Zealand in international fixtures including bilateral series against other nations or any of the global events organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC) like the ICC ODI World Cup, ICC Champions Trophy, ICC T20 World Cup and the ICC World Test Championship.

New Zealand v Sri Lanka - 3rd T20


New Zealand became the

fifth nation to play Test cricket in January 1930. They were the first team apart from the starters, England and Australia, to play ODI cricket. They played their first-ever ODI in February 1973 against another ODI debutant, Pakistan cricket team. They featured in the very first T20I against Australia in 2005. They have participated in all ICC events so far.

ICC Cricket World Cup

The ‘Black Caps’, as they are commonly known, finished as semi-finalists in the first two Cricket World Cup editions. They faced a similar fate four more times in 1992, 1999, 2007 and 2011 before crossing the hurdle for the next couple of times in 2015 and 2019. They have co-hosted the tournament with Australia in 1992 and 2015.

New Zealand’s performance in ICC Cricket World Cup:

MatchesWonLostTiedNo Result

*Last updated in Oct 2019

ICC T20 World Cup

New Zealand have a similar track record in the ICC T20 World Cup (earlier known as World T20) too. They were semi-finalists in the inaugural edition in 2007 and the latest edition in 2016. They were knocked out in the group stages in the remaining four tournaments from 2009 to 2014. They have not hosted the tournament so far, but have participated in all of them.

New Zealand’s performance in ICC T20 World Cup:

MatchesWonLostTiedNo Result

*Last updated in Oct 2019

Also see - England Cricket Team

ICC Champions Trophy

The ICC Champions Trophy (earlier known as ICC Knockout Trophy) is the only ICC event that has been won by the New Zealand cricket team. They were crowned Champions in the 2000 edition held in Kenya. They once again reached the finals in 2009 in South Africa but lost to their rivals Australia. They were semi-finalists in the 2006 edition conducted in India. They have not hosted the ICC Champions Trophy yet.

New Zealand’s performance in ICC Champions Trophy:

MatchesWonLostTiedNo Result

*Last updated in Oct 2019

Governing Body

The New Zealand Cricket (NZC) is the governing body for the national team and the cricket operations in the country of New Zealand. It was founded as New Zealand Cricket Council (NZCC) way back in 1894 in Christchurch. The headquarters of NZC is still present in Christchurch. It has an operating income close to $130 million.

Support Staff

Team ManagerMike Sandle
Batting coachPeter Fulton
Bowling coachShane Jurgensen
Performance AnalystPaul Warren
Strength and conditioning coachChris Donaldson
PhysioTommy Simsek
Media CorrespondentWilly Nicholls

The New Zealand Team Jersey

The New Zealand limited-overs jerseys have been primarily black over the years. They have got the nickname ‘Black Caps’ because of the black uniforms and caps that they wear. The ODI jerseys are all black while the T20I jersey contains more grey and just a strip of black where the sponsors title appears on the front.

Sri Lanka Board President's XI v New Zealand - Tour Match


FormatMatchesWonLostDrawnTiedNo ResultHSLS
Test (1930-2019)435981721650-71526
ODI (1973-2019)768348373-74040264
T20I (2005-2019)1215954-5324360

*Last updated in Oct 2019

HS - Highest score in an innings

LS - Lowest score in an innings

Trophies and Awards

2000ICC Champions Trophy

*Last updated in Oct 2019

Fan following

The fan following of the New Zealand cricket team is not as high as the Australian, English or Indian cricket team, but they have done well to bring in a lot of fans with their recent performances in the ICC Cricket World Cup as they finished Runners Up in the last two tournaments.

NZC has close to 450K followers on Twitter, over 600K followers on Instagram and close to 2 million followers on Facebook.

Fetching more content...