New User posted their first comment

England Cricket Team

England Cricket Team

Full NameEngland Cricket Team

Nick NameNo official Nickname

GroundLord's Cricket Ground

Prominent PlayersBen Stokes, Joe Root, Alastair Cook, Eoin Morgan, Jos Buttler


Jul 08 - TEST
England VS West Indies
Jul 16 - TEST
England VS West Indies

Alastair Cook Opening Batsman - 36
Ian Bell Batsman Right Handed 38
Jack Leach Bowler Left Arm Orthodox 29
Mark Wood Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 30
Chris Woakes All-rounder Right Handed 31
Dominic Sibley Batsman Right Handed 25
Monty Panesar Bowler Left Arm Orthodox 38
Andrew Flintoff All-rounder Right Handed 43
Sam Curran All-rounder - 22
Zak Crawley All-rounder Right Handed 22
Ollie Pope Wicket Keeper Right Handed 22
Ravi Bopara All-rounder Right Handed 35
Adil Rashid All-rounder Right Handed 32
Jonny Bairstow Batsman Right Handed 31
Stuart Broad Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 34
Paul Collingwood All-rounder Right Handed 44
Jofra Archer Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 25
Moeen Ali All-rounder - 33
Ben Stokes All-rounder - 29
Kevin Pietersen Batsman Right Handed 40
James Vince Batsman Right Handed 29
Saqib Mahmood Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 23
Liam Plunkett Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 35
Joe Denly Batsman Right Handed 34
Steven Finn Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 31
Ben Foakes Wicket Keeper Right Handed 27
Joe Root Batsman Right Handed 30
Keaton Jennings Batsman - 28
James Anderson Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 38
Andrew Strauss Opening Batsman - 43
Matt Prior Wicket Keeper Right Handed 38
Jonathan Trott Batsman Right Handed 39
Graeme Swann Bowler Right Arm Off Spin 41
Matthew Parkinson Bowler Right Arm Leg spin 24
Jos Buttler Wicket Keeper Right Handed 30
Dom Bess Bowler Right Arm Off Spin 23
Jason Roy Batsman Right Handed 30
Eoin Morgan Middle Order Batsman - 34

Captain - Joe Root (Tests), Eoin Morgan (ODIs and T20Is)

Coach - Position currently vacant

Representing - England

Team Colour - Navy blue and Red

Sponsorships - New Balance, Natwest

Table of Contents

  1. History
  2. ICC Cricket World Cup
  3. ICC T20 World Cup
  4. ICC Champions Trophy
  5. Governing Body
  6. Support Staff
  7. England Team Jerseys
  8. Records
  9. Trophies and Awards
  10. Fan following

The England cricket team represents the country of England in international fixtures including bilateral series against other nations or any of the global events organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC) like the ICC ODI World Cup, ICC Champions Trophy, ICC T20 World Cup and the ICC World Test Championship.

New Zealand v England - ICC Cricket World Cup Final 2019


The England cricket team is one of the oldest

national teams in cricketing history. They were hosts to the first-ever Test match in 1877 and were involved in the first-ever ODI in 1971, both against Australia cricket team. The ‘Home of Cricket’ i.e. the Lord’s Cricket Ground is the home ground of the English team. They have participated in all ICC tournaments till date.

ICC Cricket World Cup

England hosted the first three editions of the Cricket World Cup and participated in all editions till date. They have hosted the 1999 and the 2019 tournament as well. They were crowned ‘Champions’ in 2019 in what was believed to be their best chance at the title win. They have finished as Runners Up in 1987 and 1992.

England’s performance in ICC Cricket World Cup:

MatchesWonLostTiedNo Result

*Last updated in Sept 2019

ICC T20 World Cup

The England side have been an integral part of all editions of the ICC T20 World Cup (earlier known as World T20). They lifted the Cup in 2010 and were Runners Up six years later in 2016 losing the Final to West Indies, when Ben Stokes was infamously hit for four sixes in a row by Carlos Brathwaite. They have not yet hosted a T20 World Cup and are not scheduled to host one until 2022.

England’s performance in ICC T20 World Cup:

MatchesWonLostTiedNo Result

*Last updated in Sept 2019

ICC Champions Trophy

The England cricket team has played in all 8 editions but not yet lifted the ICC Champions Trophy (earlier known as ICC Knockout Trophy) even after hosting it most number of times. They were Runners Up in 2004 and 2013, the first two times the tournament was conducted in England. They also hosted the tournament in 2017, while no other country has hosted it more than once.

England’s performance in ICC Champions Trophy:

MatchesWonLostTiedNo Result

*Last updated in Sept 2019

Governing Body

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) governs the England cricket team and all the domestic cricket in England. The ECB replaced the Test and County Cricket Board (TCCB) in 1997 and has been conducting all the cricket operations for the England cricket team. They have an income of $139 million from the International Cricket Council (ICC) apart from ticket sales, broadcasting rights and sponsorships. It has its headquarters at the Lord’s Cricket Ground in London.

Support Staff

Batting coachMarcus Trescothick (Tests), Graham Thorpe (ODIs and T20Is)
Bowling coachChris Silverwood (Fast), Saqlain Mushtaq (Spin)
Fielding coachPaul Collingwood
Strength and conditioning coachPhil Scott

England Team Jerseys

England’s limited over jerseys have always carried various shades of blue, mostly on the darker side of blue. Their current ODI kit which was used for the World Cup 2019 was light blue with a dark blue pattern on the topmost part of the shirt with a couple of stripes. The T20I jersey possesses a red colour with small checks on the front.

Also see - Australia National Cricket Team


FormatMatchesWonLostDrawnTiedNo ResultHSLS
Test (1877-2019)10163683023460-90345
ODI (1971-2019)743374333-92748186
T20I (2005-2019)1095450-1423080

*Updated after Ashes, 12–15 September 2019

HS - Highest score in an innings

LS - Lowest score in an innings

Trophies and Awards

2010ICC Champions Trophy
2019ICC Cricket World Cup

*Last updated in Sept 2019

Fan following

The England cricket team has found it difficult to capture the attention of the new generation with not many accolades to show for their performances. They have been getting the attention with a few potent performances after being the finalists of the 2016 T20 World Cup and then winning the all-important ICC Cricket World Cup in 2019 at home. They have brought in superstar cricketers like Ben Stokes and Jofra Archer to highlight their cricket.

England v Australia - 5th Specsavers Ashes Test: Day Four

On social media, they have been causing a stir lately with back-to-back performances that displayed cricket of highest quality in the World Cup and then the Ashes 2019. The ECB has over 750K followers on Twitter, 1 million followers on Instagram and just under 5 million followers on Facebook.

Fetching more content...
Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit