Create

"Ganguly won’t allow me to play" - Herschelle Gibbs on why he isn't playing Road Safety World Series

Herschelle Gibbs (L, PC: ESPN) and Sourav Ganguly.
Herschelle Gibbs (L, PC: ESPN) and Sourav Ganguly.

Former South African batter Herschelle Gibbs has said BCCI president Sourav Ganguly doesn't want him playing in the Road Safety World Series because of his brush with the Pakistan-backed Kashmir Premier League (KPL).

Gibbs played in the KPL hosted in the Pakistan-occupied Kashmir (PoK) region last August, despite opposition from the BCCI. He had accused the Indian board of threatening him with a ban from any cricket-related work in India.

On Sunday, when a fan asked Gibbs to join the Road Safety World Series on Sunday, which started on Saturday, he replied:

"Ganguly won’t allow me to play because I went to Kashmir league last year."
@rbarman6 Ganguly won’t allow me to play because I went to Kashmir league last year 🤷‍♂️

Interestingly, Gibbs was removed from the World Legends XI team for a one-off charity match against Indian Legends XI — separate from the Road Safety World Series — that will be played on September 16 at the Eden Gardens after Ganguly faced fans' ire on social media.

So the India vs Rest of the World game is on September 15 at Eden Gardens. Sourav Ganguly leads India and Eoin Morgan the World. Part of Legends League cricket @SGanguly99 @ramanraheja @Eoin16 https://t.co/waE9GWSMEr

Later, Ganguly, who was supposed to lead the Indian team, himself pulled out because of "professional commitments and continuous work with cricket administration".

Road Safety World Series 2022: Full Schedule and Match Timings (All Times in IST)

Saturday, September 10

India Legends vs South Africa Legends, Kanpur, 7:30 pm (India Legends won by 61 runs)

Sunday, September 11

Bangladesh Legends vs West Indies Legends, Kanpur, 3:30 pm

Sri Lanka Legends vs Australia Legends, Kanpur, 7:30 pm

Monday, September 12

New Zealand Legends vs South Africa Legends, Kanpur, 7:30 pm

Tuesday, September 13

England Legends vs Sri Lanka Legends, Kanpur, 7:30 pm

Wednesday, September 14

India Legends vs West Indies Legends, Kanpur, 7:30 pm

Thursday, September 15

Bangladesh Legends vs. New Zealand Legends, Kanpur, 7:30 pm

Saturday, September 17

England Legends vs West Indies Legends, Indore, 3:30 pm

Sri Lanka Legends vs South Africa Legends, Indore, 7:30 pm

Sunday, September 18

Australia Legends vs Bangladesh Legends, Indore, 3:30 pm

India Legends vs New Zealand Legends, Indore, 7:30 pm

Monday, September 19

England Legends vs South Africa Legends, Indore, 7:30 pm

Wednesday, September 21

India Legends vs Bangladesh Legends, Dehradun, 7:30 pm

Thursday, September 22

West Indies Legends vs New Zealand Legends, Dehradun, 7:30 pm

Friday, September 23

Australia Legends vs South Africa Legends, Dehradun, 7:30 pm

Saturday, September 24

India Legends vs England Legends, Dehradun, 7:30 pm

Sunday, September 25

Sri Lanka Legends vs New Zealand Legends, Dehradun, 3:30 pm

Australia Legends vs West Indies Legends, Dehradun, 7:30 pm

Tuesday, September 27

Sri Lanka Legends vs Bangladesh Legends, Raipur, 3:30 pm

England Legends vs Australia Legends, Raipur, 7:30 pm

Wednesday, September 28

Semi-final 1, Raipur, 7:30 pm

Thursday, September 29

Semi-final 2, Raipur, 7:30 pm

Saturday, October 1

Final, Raipur, 7:30 pm

Quick Links

Edited by S Chowdhury
Be the first one to comment