Favorites Edit

Highest partnership in T20 International helps New Zealand defeat Pakistan

2.21K   //    17 Jan 2016, 15:06 IST
Martin Guptill and Kane Williamson set a partnership record

Pakistan won the toss and elected to bat first in the second T20 International vs New Zealand at Hamilton's Seddon Park stadium. Pakistan set a target of 168 runs over 20 overs. They lost 7 wickets in that span. They were led by Umar Akmal who had 56 unbeaten runs from 27 balls.

Martin Guptill and Kane Williamson set the highest partnership record in T20s with their 171 runs to help New Zealand defeat Pakistan. The previous record of 170 runs was held by Graeme Smith and Loots Bosman in 2009 for South Africa vs England.

The dynamic duo helped New Zealand get off to a good start, getting 36 runs in five overs. Williamson had 28 runs from just 13 balls by the fifth over. After ten overs passed, New Zealand were at 82 runs.

Guptill got to his 50 in the 12th over. The partnership of the batsmen got to 100 in the 12th over as well. This being Guptill's ninth fifty in T20 International.

Guptill finished with 87 runs. Williamson had 72. New Zealand coasted to a win without the loss of any wickets.

Pakistani opener Ahmed Shehzad was out for 9 runs, caught by Kane Williamson and bowled by Corey Anderson. Mohammed Hafeez failed to add anything substantial as he was dismissed for 19 runs. He was caught by Todd Astle off a delivery by Mitchell Santner.

Shoaib Maqsood followed suit, adding just 18 runs before being caught by Santner off a Grant Elliot delivery. Shoaib Malik made 39 runs before being bowled by Mitchell McClenaghan.

Shahid Afridi managed just 7 runs including a sixer. Imad Wasim went out for 8 runs, caught by Milne off a McClenaghan delivery. Sarfraz Ahmed just managed one run before getting out. McClenaghan was particularly impressive for New Zealand. as he took two wickets in four overs while allowing 23 runs.

In the first match of the series Pakistan came out on top by 16 runs after defending a 172 run target. The next and final match will be on January 22 at Wellington. After the T20 series the two teams will play a three match ODI series.

Pakistan Team: Ahmed Shahzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Shahid Afridi, Imad Wasim, Sohaib Maqsood, Umar Akmal, Wahab Riaz, Umar Gul, Sarfraz Ahmed, Mohammad Amir.

New Zealand Team: MJ Guptill, KS Williamson, C Munro, CJ Anderson, GD Elliott, L Ronchi†, MJ Santner, TD Astle, LRPL Taylor, AF Milne, MJ McClenaghan.

Topics you might be interested in:
Name's Siddarth Sharma- Hoop, run, write, rinse, repeat. Awards- Sportskeeda Basketball Writer of the Year (2016)- Sportskeeda Veteran Keeda (2010-2012)-
Fetching more content...